Home >About

Invisible Giants
Celebrate in their lifetime inspiring women working for social justice and well-being in their communities.

"Invisible Giants" was born out of a desire to highlight extraordinary women working in a simple and unobtrusive way for the development of their communities; activists at their levels for social change.
Whether they are from Kaolack, Toubab Dialaw, St. Louis or Ziguinchor, from Africa or its diaspora, whether they are political or civil society personalities, feminists, committed activists, or artists... They are all fully dedicated and do a remarkable job in the service of others.

We want to honor them by documenting their stories, showing their image, creating physical and virtual events to share their stories, the journey of their lives, and their experiences with as many people as possible; through a series of portraits and biographies that show how "ordinary women" can become pillars for an entire community and positively change the lives of many people in their immediate surroundings.
Fighters, unstoppable, and volunteers; they have love and generosity in common... They are brimming with life, despite the difficulties and pitfalls in their respective struggles.

"Invisible Giants is a concept I learned from another woman, another Invisible Giant. In 1996, during my first trip to the United States with the Institute for Popular Education in Mali, we met this force, this lady who regularly organizes a big event that she calls "Jubilee", which commemorates the struggle for the rights of blacks in the United States. A great event, but of all the activities, something touched me and remained in my heart. It was an activity that she called "Invisible Giants", during which she presented trophies to women who participated in the struggle for civil rights. Women whose names were unknown, at least to us from Africa: Amelia Boynton (https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amelia_Boynton_Robinson), Mary Foster, Diana Nash... And Faya Rose Touré said: "There are so many women who have done so much for the movements, often they are invisible in the history of change. And I want to celebrate them. ».

This lesson has stayed with me and since then I look around me and I see these Invisible Giants, these women who patiently, patiently transform their communities. These women to whom others turn when they are in need. When we look for them, we often find them... right under our noses. We see them without paying attention to them. There are so many women who have gone beyond the cultural, religious and economic frameworks that had already decided the limits of their destiny.

Every time I meet them and recognize them, I wonder what force has allowed them to escape the spiral they have been in since birth. How and where do they find the strength and also the chance to survive and defy established norms?

For more than twenty years I have been collecting stories of Invisible Giants, stories so true that they go beyond fiction. Stories of women who cure us of despair and cynicism. But who heals those who heal? Who takes care of the invisible giants and those who give hope?

The celebration of the Invisible Giants is an attempt to recognize and care for those who give so much to so many people in our communities. »

Coumba Touré
Coordinator of the pan-African movement Africans Rising for peace justice and dignity
https://www.africans-rising.org

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Accueil >A Propos

Géantes Invisibles
Célébrer de leur vivant des femmes inspirantes qui travaillent pour la justice sociale et le bien être dans leur communauté

« Géantes Invisibles » est né de la volonté de mettre en lumière des femmes extraordinaires œuvrant dans la plus grande simplicité et de manière non tapageuse pour le développement de leurs communautés ; militantes à leurs niveaux en faveur du changement social.
Qu’elles soient de Kaolack, Toubab Dialaw, St Louis ou de Ziguinchor, de l’Afrique ou de sa diaspora qu elles soient des personnalités politiques ou de la société civile, des féministes, activistes engagées, ou encore artistes… Toutes sont entièrement dévouées et font un travail remarquable au service des autres.

Nous voulons les mettre à l’honneur en documentant leurs histoires, en montrant leur image, en créant des événements physiques et virtuels pour partager avec le plus grand nombre leurs histoires, le voyage de leurs vies, ainsi que leurs expériences ; à travers une série de portraits et de biographies qui laissent entrevoir comment des « femmes ordinaires » peuvent devenir des piliers pour toute une communauté et changer de manière positive la vie de nombreuses personnes dans leur entourage immédiat.
Battantes, indémontables, et volontaires ; elles ont en commun l’amour et la générosité… Elles sont débordantes de vie, malgré la difficulté et les embûches dans leurs combats respectifs.

« Géantes Invisibles, c’est un concept que j’ai appris d’une autre femme, une autre Géante Invisible. En 1996, lors de mon premier voyage aux Etats-Unis avec l’Institut pour l’Education Populaire au Mali, nous rencontrons cette force, cette dame qui organise régulièrement un grand évènement qu’elle appelle « Jubilee », qui commémore la lutte pour les droits des noirs aux USA. Un grand évènement, mais de toutes les activités, quelque chose m’a touché et est restée dans mon cœur. C’était une activité qu’elle avait nommé « Géantes Invisibles » ; durant laquelle elle remettait des trophées à des femmes qui ont participé à la lutte pour les droits civiques. Des femmes dont les noms étaient méconnus, en tout cas pour nous qui venions d’Afrique : Amélia Boynton (https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amelia_Boynton_Robinson), Mary Foster, Diana Nash… Et Faya Rose Touré disait : « Il y a tant de femmes qui ont fait tant pour les mouvements souvent elles sont invisibles dans l’histoire des changements. Et je tiens à les célébrer. ».

Cette leçon m’est restée et depuis je regarde autour de moi et je vois ces Géantes Invisibles, ces femmes qui patiemment, transforment leurs communautés. Ces femmes vers qui les autres se tournent lorsqu’ils sont dans le besoin. Quand on les cherche, on les trouve souvent… Sous notre nez. On les voient sans faire attention à elles. Il y a tant de femmes qui ont dépassé les cadres culturels, religieux et économiques qui avaient déjà décidé de la limite de leurs destinées.

A chaque fois que je les rencontre et que je les reconnais, je me demande quelle force leur a permis d’échapper à la spirale enclenchée depuis leur naissance. Comment et où trouvent-elles la force et aussi la chance de survivre et défier les normes établies ?

Cela fait plus de vingt ans que je collectionne des histoires de Géantes Invisibles, des histoires si vraies qui pourtant dépassent la fiction. Des histoires de femmes qui nous soignent du désespoir et du cynisme. Mais qui soigne celles qui soignent ? Qui prend soin des géantes invisibles et de celles qui donnent l’espoir ?

La célébration des Géantes Invisibles est une tentative de reconnaissance et de soin pour celles qui donnent autant à tant de personnes dans nos communautés. »

Coumba Touré
Coordinatrice du mouvement panafricain Africans Rising for peace justice and dignity
https://www.africans-rising.org

fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page