Marie Delphine Ndiaye
Of Right and of Law

Qualified and rigorous Giant very actively engaged, advocates for change through law reforms on all fronts related to promotion of legal status of women in Senegal.

Marie Delphine Ndiaye comes from a family of nine children. As the daughter of educators, she along with her brothers and sisters received regular schooling up to university level.
In addition, she is a lawyer by training, as well as a tax and commercial expert. She is one of the first women to have embraced this profession in the country.
The commitment of the first Senegalese intellectual women Aminata Sow Fall and Mariama Ba, whom she read a lot, inspired and impressed her.

Above all, the journey through the country of Maïmouna Kane, the first woman Minister of Women's Affairs, when she was in primary school, made her realize that something had to be done for women.
She has been General Secretary of the National Order of Experts of Senegal for the past six years.

This certainly reveals his temperament. "The first way to impose oneself is competence and rigour," she says in a soft voice.
This legal profession, by making her aware of the condition of Senegalese women, pushes her to join the struggle for better social equity.
In terms of commitment, she is on many associative fronts; she was president of the Association of Women Lawyers of Senegal (AJS) for seven years; currently, she is a member of the Cheikh Anta Diop Foundation, whose vocation is to support the University of Dakar in the promotion of excellence; and a member of the board of directors of the Agency for the Development of Social Marketing (ADEMAS), which focuses on family well-being through maternal and child health; and also a member of the National Observatory of Parity.
As a professional, she says she is accustomed to combining it with her busy associative life, as she acquired her citizenship culture at school where volunteering was part of the extracurricular activities; then by joining one of the first women's organizations, the Zonta Club. "I spend the time it takes to volunteer for a community organization. I didn't take on certain responsibilities until my children grew up.
Its first vocation is to work on legal texts within the AJS to make society evolve, to improve the legal status of women and children.

"For example, I played an active role in ensuring tax fairness, because until 2008, Senegalese women, as taxpayers, were not considered heads of households. This meant that she had a number of shares equivalent to that of a single person. This was the subject of a long demand by trade unionists as well as other women like us. »
Marie Delphine Ndiaye remembers with fervor the texts she worked on within this association: texts that discriminate against women, those relating to abortion and the criminalization of rape, women's access to land. She has traveled extensively in Senegal for this last issue with the AJS. It is an advocacy that continues to give women access to this right guaranteed by the constitution, but which is not applied to them, often due to a lack of knowledge on the part of the women themselves. However, rural women are becoming better and better informed thanks to the awareness-raising campaigns. "The women's movement has become much larger and more diverse in terms of social categories. When we have a critical mass, the data will change. »
For her, transmission to young people is very important to get them involved because the stakes will be higher and higher. "The first is that of the empowerment of women, which will liberate them sociologically and socially. "She says she is optimistic in view of the road traveled, because through laws, we are able to stabilize social gains. "A law is only the expression of the popular will at a given moment. "And a change in society takes time.

00:00
00:00
en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Marie Delphine Ndiaye
De droit et de loi

Géante compétente et rigoureuse, très engagée, prône le changement par les lois sur tous les fronts du statut juridique des femmes au Sénégal.

Marie Delphine Ndiaye est issue d’une famille de neuf enfants de parents éducateurs. Comme ses frères et sœurs, elle a suivi un parcours scolaire régulier jusqu’à l’université.
Elle est juriste de formation, expert fiscal et commercial. C’est l’une des premières à avoir embrassé cette profession dans le pays.
L’engagement des premières femmes intellectuelles sénégalaises Aminata Sow Fall et Mariama Ba, qu’elle a beaucoup lu, l’ont inspirée et impressionnée.

Mais surtout, le parcours à travers le pays de Maïmouna Kane, première femme ministre de la condition féminine, à l’époque où elle était au primaire, lui a fait prendre conscience qu’il fallait faire quelque chose pour les femmes.
Elle est secrétaire générale de l’Ordre National des Experts du Sénégal, depuis six ans.

Cela révèle certainement son tempérament. « La première façon de s’imposer est la compétence et la rigueur » dit-elle d’une voix douce.
Ce métier de juriste, en lui faisant constater la condition des femmes sénégalaises, la pousse à adhérer à la lutte pour une meilleure équité sociale.
En termes d’engagement, elle est sur de nombreux fronts associatifs ; elle a occupé la présidence de l’Association des Femmes Juristes du Sénégal (AJS) pendant sept ans ; actuellement, elle est membre de la fondation Cheikh Anta Diop dont la vocation est d’appuyer l’Université de Dakar pour la promotion de l’excellence ; et membre du conseil d’administration de l’Agence pour le Développement du Marketing Social (ADEMAS), qui s’occupe essentiellement du bien-être familial à travers la santé maternelle et infantile ; et également membre de l’Observatoire National de la Parité.
Exerçant une profession libérale, elle assure être habituée à la combiner avec cette vie associative bien remplie, car elle a acquis sa culture de citoyenneté à l’école où le bénévolat faisait partie des activités extrascolaires ; puis en adhérant à l’une des premières organisations féminines, le Zonta Club. « Je consacre au bénévolat associatif le temps qu’il faut. Je n’ai accepté de prendre certaines responsabilités que lorsque mes enfants ont grandi ».
Sa première vocation est de travailler sur les textes de loi au sein de l’AJS pour faire évoluer la société, pour améliorer le statut juridique de la femme et de l’enfant.

« Par exemple, j’ai joué une part active pour qu’il y ait l’équité fiscale, parce que jusqu’en 2008, la femme sénégalaise, en tant que contribuable, n’était pas considérée comme chef de famille. Ce qui faisait qu’elle avait un nombre de parts équivalent à celui d’un célibataire. Cela a fait l’objet d’une longue revendication aussi bien des syndicalistes que des autres femmes comme nous. »
Marie Delphine Ndiaye se souvient avec ferveur des textes sur lesquels elle a travaillé au sein de cette association : les textes discriminatoires à l’égard des femmes, ceux relatifs à l’avortement et à la criminalisation du viol, à l’accès des femmes à la terre. Elle a beaucoup sillonné le Sénégal pour cette dernière question avec l’AJS. C’est un plaidoyer qui continue pour faire accéder les femmes à ce droit garanti par la constitution, mais qui ne leur est pas appliqué, souvent par méconnaissance des femmes elles-mêmes. Pourtant, les femmes du monde rural sont de mieux en mieux informées grâce aux campagnes de sensibilisation. « Le mouvement des femmes s’est beaucoup agrandi et diversifié en termes de catégories sociales. Quand on aura une masse critique, les données changeront. »
Pour elle, la transmission aux jeunes est très importante afin qu’elles s’engagent parce que les enjeux seront de plus en plus importants. « Le premier est celui de l’autonomisation de la femme qui va la libérer sociologiquement et socialement. » Elle dit être optimiste au vu du chemin parcouru, car par les lois, on arrive à stabiliser les acquis sociaux. « Une loi n’est que l’expression de la volonté populaire à un moment donné. » Et un changement de société prend du temps.

00:00
00:00
fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page