Astou Diagne Diop
Technical Advisor to the Plan NGO

With a Master's degree in Economics from the Sorbonne University in Paris and a Master's degree in Project Management from the Université du Québec à Montréal, Astou Diop returned to Senegal to join the Ministry of Planning where she took her first steps as a development technician.

It is there that she acquired the professional qualities that are hers, still today and the method to which it has been able to combine great qualities, in this case org nization and method personal: simplicity, availability and generosity. It is, undoubtedly, there that resides the secret of his performance at all stages of his career.

In 1989, while she was Deputy Director of the Plan, she was called by Mrs. Ndioro Ndiaye, Minister of Social Development, to take charge of the UNCDF project in its phase of "Economic Promotion of Women's Groups" as National Director. That was all it took for Astou Diop to commit herself fully on the technical level but also on the ground for the cause of women. Here too, she stands out for her professionalism and her exceptional taste for work well done and the achievement of results as planned. Thus, from 1993 to 1999, she was, in turn, a consultant and a consultant in the field of women's rights. Technical and Director of Family Welfare at the Ministry of Women, Children and the Family and the Ministry of the Family, Social Action and National Solidarity. She was a United Nations official in Guinea Bissau from 1991 to 1993 and in Madagascar from 1999 to 2002. She also worked as an Expert Consultant on gender mainstreaming in policies, programs and projects at the World Bank, UNFPA, CDRI, UNDP and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). He was responsible for leading Senegal's participation in the 1995 Beijing World Conference on Women, through the organization of the 1994 African regional conference in Dakar and Senegal's technical preparation for its contribution to that conference, the development of the second National Action Plan for Women in 1996, as recommended in Beijing, and the formulation of the 2004-2005 National Strategy for Gender Equity and Equality.

For her, it is extremely important today that Africans Rising makes the struggle of women, the promotion of women, the empowerment of women its main focus.

"Because nothing in development can be done without women. (...) It is important to value, not the woman as a woman but to value the potential of women. And this potential is indispensable for the development of women's of the country, to the development of the Nation."

Doc to value this potential is to reflect the image of women leaders, to reflect the image women who have done something in their sector, it's extremely important.

And I would like all the women who are here, all the men who are here, that you disregarded, that you take this with you: It is often said

"Behind every man there is a great lady" but behind every lady There's a man too."

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Astou Diagne Diop
Conseillère technique au Plan

Diplômée d’une maîtrise en Sciences économiques de l’Université de la Sorbonne à Paris et d’un Master en Gestion de projet de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, Astou Diop est rentrée au Sénégal pour intégrer le Ministère du Plan où elle fit ses premiers pas en tant que technicienne du développement.

C’est là qu’elle a acquis les qualités professionnelles qui sont les siennes, encore aujourd’hui en l’occurrence l’org nisation et la méthode auxquelles elle a su allier de grandes qualités personnelles : la simplicité, la disponibilité et la générosité. C’est, sans doute, là que réside le secret de ses performances à toutes les étapes de son parcours professionnel.

En 1989, alors qu’elle occupe la fonction de Directrice Adjointe du Plan, elle appelée par Mme Ndioro Ndiaye, Ministre du développement Social, pour prendre en charge, le projet FENU dans sa phase de « Promotion Économique des Groupements Féminins » en tant que DirectriceNationale. Il n’en fallait pas plus pour qu’Astou Diop s’engage toute entière sur le plan techniquemais aussi sur le terrain pour la cause des femmes. Là aussi elle se distingue par son professionnalisme et son goût exceptionnel pour le travail bien fait et l’atteinte des résultats tels que prévus. C’est ainsi qu’elle occupe, de 1993 à 1999, tour à tour, les fonctions de Conseillère Technique et de Directrice du Bien-Être Familial au Ministère de la Femme,de l’Enfant et de la Famille et au Ministère de la Famille, de l’Action Sociale et de la Solidarité nationale. Fonctionnaire des Nations Unies, en Guinée Bissau de 1991 à 1993 et à Madagascar de 1999 à 2002elle est également intervenue en tant qu’Experte-consultante sur la prise en compte du genre dans les politiques, programmes et projets , à la Banque Mondiale, de l’UNFPA, du CDRI, du PNUD et de la CEA.On lui doit la conduite du processus de participation du Sénégal à la Conférence mondiale des Femmes de Beijing 1995, à travers l’organisation de la conférence régionale africaine de Dakar 1994 et la préparation technique du Sénégal pour sa contribution à ladite Conférence, l’élaboration du deuxième Plan d’action National de la Femme 1996, tel que recommandé à Beijing ou encore la formulation de la Stratégie Nationale pour l’Équité et l’Égalité de Genre 2004-2005.

Pour elle, c’est extrêmement important aujourd’hui qu’Africans Rising fasse du combat des femmes, de la promotion des femms, de l’autonomisation des femmes son cheval de bataille.

«Parce que rien en matière de développement ne pourra se faire sans les femmes. (…) Il est important de valoriser, pas la femme en tant que femme mais valoriser le potentiel de la femme. Et ce potentiel-là; il est indispensable au développement du pays, au développement de la Nation.»

Doc valoriser ce potentiel, c’est renvoyer l’image des femmes leaders, renvoyer l’image des femmes qui ont fait quelque chose dans leur secteur, c’est extrêmement important.

Et je voudrais que toutes les femmes qui sont ici, tous les hommes qui sont ici, que vous mécoutiez, que vous emportiez ça avec vous : On dit souvent

« Derrière chaque homme, il y a une grande dame» mais derrière chaque dame il y aun homme aussi»

fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page