Penda Seck Diouf
President of the Committee for Combating Violence against Women.

Penda Seck Diouf is the president of the Committee to Combat Violence Against Women (CLVF) and national president of the peace and security watch platform Etu Jamm.

This development sociologist has long taught communication techniques and has worked as a communications officer in the programmes of awareness raising or capacity building of many NGOs or international organisations.

Already as a child, she was sensitive to the frequent injustices in her school, her neighbourhood, etc. She had a strong sense of the need for justice.

"When I was very young, I witnessed scenes of injustice at school where the children may be victims of violence and violations of their rights ... we cannot be not a month went by without hearing women shouting in their homes to call for help because they are victims of domestic violence".

She also oriented her sociology studies towards documentation techniques. based on gender.

In 1995, Penda Seck Diouf created the Nénuphar association, which fights against drugs among the women, inspired by the experience of a very close neighbour who had dropped out of college. after having been introduced to drugs by older people. She remembers that the reaction of the entourage was to respond with blows to a situation of unknown addiction then. Her association is particularly involved in violence against women. involved in drug-related activities.

"A female user is often marginalised, driven out of her home and left on the street, at the mercy of all forms of violence. It is the only organisation of this kind in Senegal, as this social problem still remains taboo and is generally only treated in a repressive manner". "In general, gender-based violence has as its basis the drugs".

00:00
00:00
en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Penda Seck Diouf
Présidente du Comité de lutte contre les violences faites aux Femmes.

Penda Seck Diouf est la présidente du comité de lutte contre les violences faites aux femmes (CLVF) et présidente nationale de la plateforme de veille pour la paix et la sécurité Etu Jamm.

Cette sociologue du développement a longtemps enseigné les techniques de communication sociale et a travaillé comme chargé de la communication dans les programmes de sensibilisation d’encadrement ou de renforcement des capacités de nombreuses ONG ou organisations internationales.

Déjà enfant, elle était sensible aux injustices fréquentes dans son école, son quartier

« très jeune j’ai assisté à des scènes d’injustice à l’école où les enfants peuvent être victimes de violences et de violations de leurs droits … on ne restait pas un mois sans entendre des femmes crier dans leur maison pour appeler à l’aide parce qu’elles sont victimes de violences conjugales ».

Aussi elle orienta ses études de sociologie sur les techniques de documentation basées sur le genre.

En 1995, Penda Seck Diouf crée l’association Nénuphar qui lutte contre la drogue chez les femmes, inspirée par l’expérience d’une voisine très proche qui avait abandonné le collège après avoir été initiée à la drogue par des personnes plus âgées. Elle en garde le souvenir que la réaction de l’entourage fut de répondre par les coups à une situation d’addiction inconnue alors. Son association s’investit particulièrement sur les violences dont sont victimes les femmes impliquées dans les activités liées à la toxicomanie.

« Une femme usagère est souvent marginalisée, chassée de son domicile et laissée à la rue, à la merci de toutes formes de violences. C’est la seule organisation de ce type au Sénégal, car ce problème social reste encore tabou et n’est traité généralement que de manière répressive ». « Généralement les violences basées sur le genre ont comme soubassement la drogue ».

00:00
00:00
fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page