Binta Sarr
Of Solidarity and Endless Enthusiasm

Giant, educator, pioneer and visionary in empowering women of rural areas through impactful achievements: co-operatives, mutual health and credit unions.

Binta Sarr, a native of Kaolack, was a woman in her sixties still active despite health problems. She continued to go into the field, especially for conferences and training. She was highly respected by her community and known around the world, thanks to her tangible achievements.
As a member of civil society, she was a member of the Citizen Committee of the National Assizes of 2012 for the Kaolack region. She remains committed to citizen action, because according to her, political parties do not respond to her aspirations.

Binta Sarr was the head of the women's section of the "Magg Daan" association in her neighborhood while holding the position of Regional Head of Hydraulics in the public service.
Young women in the women's section of that organization created APROFES in 1988, after having carried out reflections to set up an autonomous structure made up entirely of women, with the role of addressing the challenges of women's economic empowerment as well as promoting their rights.
In the 2000s, the association became an NGO.

Binta Sarr was the President of the Board of Directors of the Association for the Advancement of Senegalese Women (APROFES) which works mainly on women's rights, for the promotion of women's leadership and access to decision-making bodies.
Binta gave up a great career as an engineer to work modestly with rural women's communities

According to Ms. Ndao, director of the APROFES TERANGA credit unions, it is the depth of her feminist commitment that made her choose to pursue the associative project rather than remain within the administration;
and she had done an impressive job, no doubt by bringing her rigor as an engineer and her dedication to the project, going much further than many women's associations throughout Senegal in vision and ambition: the creation of cooperatives and two health and credit cooperatives, because it was always difficult to find funding for the association. In addition, the NGO set up a speaking/listening space for women who were victims of violence.
The association is managed only by women and intervenes within thirty-five villages in the Kaolack region in projects including literacy, construction of latrines, agricultural programs to ensure food security, and consciousness discussions on women's rights.

This association working for the promotion of Senegalese women was created from the idea that women face difficulties not only in the area of enjoying their basic rights, but also access to credit, land and to positions of responsibility.
Binta Sarr’s story is the story of continuous women's solidarity and of a determination which has led to an undeniable success on this path of solidarity.

She affirmed that without the participation of women, Senegal will not be able to evolve and grow, as women make up half of the population (51%). That is why it is important for them to be able to take responsibility within state institutions.
Despite the advent of the parity law passed in 2010, this provision is still not effective. For example, today, most women who have access to municipal counselling positions do not attend the municipal councils.
Elected women to office positions need to work for the benefit of the community, taking into account the interests of men and women and not only those of political parties. Their first role is to advocate for the respect of women's interests who are most generally marginalized.

Binta passed away on September 15, 2019.
Will remain of you...
Will remain of you what you have given
Instead of keeping it in rusty safes
What you have given in others will blossom
What remains of you is what you gave
Between open arms one morning in the sun
Will remain of you a shed tears
A smile germinated on the eyes of your heart
Will remain of you what you have sown
And shared with the beggars of happiness
What you have sown in others will germinate
He who had lost his life, one day will find it (French Original version by Simone Veil)
(Par Simone Veil)

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Binta Sarr
De solidarité et d’une ferveur éternelle

Géante, véritable éducatrice, pionnière et visionnaire dans le domaine de l’autonomisation des femmes rurales avec des réalisations impressionnantes :  coopératives, mutuelles de santé et de crédit.

Binta Sarr, originaire de Kaolack, est une femme d’une soixantaine d’années toujours active malgré des problèmes de santé. Elle continue à aller sur le terrain, surtout lors des conférences et des formations. Elle est très respectée par sa communauté et connue dans le monde entier, grâce aux résultats tangibles qu’elle a obtenus.
Membre de la société civile, elle a siégé au Comité citoyen des assises nationales de 2012 pour la région de Kaolack. Elle reste attachée à l’action citoyenne, car selon elle, les partis politiques ne répondent pas à ses aspirations.

Binta Sarr dirigeait la section féminine de l’association « Magg Daan » dans son quartier tout en occupant la fonction de responsable régionale de l’hydraulique dans la fonction publique.
Les jeunes femmes de la section féminine de cette organisation ont créé l’APROFES en 1988, après avoir mené des réflexions pour mettre en place une structure autonome formée uniquement de femmes, ayant pour rôle de relever les défis de l’autonomisation économique des femmes et aussi de promouvoir leurs droits.
Dans les années 2000 l’association a reçu l’agrément pour devenir une ONG.

Binta Sarr est Présidente du conseil d’administration de l’Association pour la Promotion de la Femme Sénégalaise (APROFES) qui travaille surtout sur les droits des femmes, pour la promotion du leadership féminin et l’accès des femmes aux instances de décision.
Binta a abandonné une grande carrière d’ingénieure, pour travailler modestement avec des communautés de femmes en milieu rural.

Selon Mme Ndao, directrice des mutuelles de crédit APROFES TERANGA, c’est la profondeur de son engagement féministe qui l’a fait choisir de poursuivre le projet associatif plutôt que de rester dans l’administration.
Et elle a réalisé un travail impressionnant, sans doute en apportant sa rigueur d’ingénieure, allant beaucoup plus loin dans la vision et dans l’ambition que bon nombre d’associations de femmes à travers tout le Sénégal : création de coopératives et de 2 mutuelles de santé et de crédit, car pour l’association il est toujours difficile de trouver des financements. En outre, l’ONG dispose d’un point d’écoute pour les femmes victimes de violences.
L’association gérée uniquement par des femmes, intervient à travers trente-cinq villages de la région de Kaolack dans des projets comprenant des classes d’alphabétisation, la construction de latrines, des programmes agricoles pour assurer la sécurité alimentaire,des causeries de sensibilisation sur les droits de la femme.

Cette association œuvrant pour la promotion de la femme sénégalaise est née du constat selon lequel les femmes rencontrent des difficultés non seulement dans la jouissance de leurs droits élémentaires, mais également dans l’accès aux crédits, à la terre, ou encore aux postes de responsabilité.
Binta Sarr, c’est l’histoire d’une solidarité féminine qui dure, l’histoire d’une détermination qui a mené à une réussite incontestable sur cette voie de la solidarité.

Elle affirme que sans la participation des femmes, le Sénégal ne pourra pas évoluer et se développer, car les femmes représentent la moitié de la population (51 %). C’est pourquoi il est important qu’elles puissent prendre des responsabilités dans les institutions étatiques.
Malgré l’avènement de la loi sur la parité votée en 2010, cette disposition n’est toujours pas effective. À titre d’illustration, aujourd’hui, les femmes ont accès aux conseils municipaux, mais ne siègent pas dans leur bureau.
Les femmes élues à des postes électifs doivent travailler pour l’intérêt de la communauté en tenant compte des intérêts des hommes et des femmes et pas seulement ceux des partis politiques. Leur premier rôle est quand même de pousser à faire respecter les intérêts des femmes, car en général celles-ci sont les plus marginalisées.

Binta nous a quittés le 15 septembre 2019
Il restera de toi…
Il restera de toi ce que tu as donné.
Au lieu de le garder dans des coffres rouillés.
Ce que tu as donné, en d’autres fleurira.
Il restera de toi ce que tu as offert
Entre les bras ouverts un matin au soleil.
Il restera de toi une larme tombée,
Un sourire germé sur les yeux de ton cœur.
Il restera de toi ce que tu as semé
Que tu as partagé aux mendiants du bonheur.
Ce que tu as semé en d’autres germera.
Celui qui perd sa vie, un jour la trouvera.
(Par Simone Veil)

fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page