Halimatou Souaré
Of Peace and of Humanism

This Giant, pioneer of the fight for peace in Casamance has tremendous motivation and is courageous!

At the age of sixty-nine and mother of eight, Halimatou created in Ziguinchor a unit for processing dried agricultural products in an artisanal manner by the women of her Economic Interest Group: banana to thiakry (a senegalese millet pudding), mangoes, fonio (a type of millet), and so on. This entity also serves as a training center and receives young trainees from various technical high schools, the University of Ziguinchor and other universities in Senegal. Since 2018, the Senegalese State has sent a dozen trainees from training schools, and universities for an 18-month internship in their processing unit.
Halimatou was living peacefully between her village Badem and her town Ziguinchor, when in 1981, the "conflict in Casamance" broke out, as well as the macabre countdown which accompanied it... She was distraught! One day, on her way back from the village where she had gone to harvest the crops

she met the rebels and held up a sign for peace. This first citizen and patriot act, at first motivated by a mother's fear for her children, marked the beginning of her commitment to peace! Aware of the urgency to stop the violence, she devoted herself entirely, transporting and distributing food around the battlefield, caring for the wounded, gathering the victims, the refugees fleeing their villages and risking her own life at every moment in this dangerous environment. Yet, she handled her fear, in faith with her inner leitmotiv: "We risk nothing, because we are doing good, God will protect us!" She is deeply moved by the lives sacrificed to these fratricidal struggles. “A weapon doesn’t know the difference between a father and a son,” she says.
In 1995, when twenty-five soldiers died, many women at the regional and national level joined her struggle for peace, "It is not only sons from Dakar who are dying but our brothers and fathers too". The Casamance conflict caused her to lose land and sources of income. In 1983, she created the Association for the Promotion of the Mother and Child Kagamen which aims at helping displaced women like her, assisting and training landmine victims, encouraging women to return to their communities and to create income generating activities.
In fact, from the first tumults that heralded the conflict in Casamance, the "founder" of KAGAMEN, Halimatou SOUARE has been very considerate by initiating already in 1983, the first march for peace, accompanied by 5 men, namely: Aba Diatta, a former deputy of Robert Sagna at the town hall of Ziguinchor, a former gendarme named Malamine Mané, Kémo Sané, Malamine Diémé and Moussa Sadio. Several marches took place afterwards, all of them calling for the definitive return of peace in Casamance.
Along with the marches and long processions accompanied by traditional and holy songs, several other awareness-raising activities have been initiated by KAGAMEN to bring back peace in the southern part of the country. The launch of the latest major march, a very successful campaign to raise awareness for peace across the three departments in the region, was chaired in 2005 by the Prime Minister, Macky Sall who was then at the head of a strong ministerial delegation. The launch took place on 12th, 17th, 20th and 22nd of November 2005 respectively in Niassya, Cabrousse, Bignona and Niaguis with the topic: "Women and Armed Conflict". The Minister of Women and Family, Ndioro Ndiaye had supported Halimatou from the beginning in her initiatives. The Minister of Environment at the time had come to meet with the actors of the rebellion. Halimatou thus gained legitimacy as the peoples' voice with the authorities.
Despite his desire for political neutrality, Halimatou was elected deputy mayor of Mangagoulack, a commune made up of eight villages near Bignona, which gave him more influence at the local level. In the region of Ziguinchor, women organized in several groups (GIE) are asking her to find donors to solve their problems of irrigation, fencing, marketing their products, etc. They are aware that working for food security, improving their living conditions, is essential to keep their children in the region. Yet they still feel abandoned, they and their beautiful region, this feeling that was at the origin of their support to the conflict in its early stages, persists ... Convinced that the easing of tensions requires the development of the region,

Halimatou works tirelessly to this end, initiating numerous projects with the support of international organizations.
Until today, the displaced are numerous, the handicapped, victims of mines, are trained by Mrs. Halimatou, even if the accompaniment of the latter does not follow. Similarly, for the rebels who have laid down their arms. Today, one of Halimatou's flagship projects is the establishment of the Museum of African Women in Casamance. Through this project to enhance the status of women, KAGAMEN has set itself the goal of promoting peace in Casamance, the sub-region and Africa in general through a forum for dialogue, a framework for exchanges on issues that shake African households with a strong mobilization of women leaders from all over Africa.
It continues the fight for peace and development!

 

00:00
00:00
en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Halimatou Souaré
De paix et d’humanisme

Cette géante pionnière du combat pour la paix en Casamance est une fonceuse, courageuse et solidaire, pacifiste et humaniste !

Agée de soixante-neuf ans et mère de huit enfants, Halimatou a créé à Ziguinchor, une unité de transformation des produits agricoles, séchés de façon artisanale, par les femmes de son GIE : du thiakry à la banane, des mangues, du fonio, etc. Cette entité sert également de Centre de formation et reçoit de jeunes stagiaires des divers lycées techniques, de l’université de Ziguinchor et d’autres universités du Sénégal… Et depuis 2018, l’État du Sénégal leur envoie une dizaine de stagiaires issus d’écoles de formation et d’universités pour un stage de 18 mois dans cette unité de transformation.
Halimatou vivait paisiblement entre son village Badem et sa ville Ziguinchor, quand en 1981, éclata le « conflit en Casamance », ainsi que le décompte macabre qui l’accompagne… Elle était désemparée ! Un jour, en rentrant du village où elle était partie

faire les récoltes, elle rencontre les rebelles et brandit une pancarte pour la paix. Ce premier acte citoyen et patriote, d’abord motivé par la peur d’une mère pour ses enfants, marqua le début de son engagement pour la paix ! Consciente de l’urgence de stopper cette violence, elle s’engage corps et âme, convoyant et distribuant des vivres non loin des balles, soignant des blessés, rassemblant les victimes, les réfugiés fuyant leurs villages, risquant sa vie à chaque instant dans cet environnement dangereux, mais pourtant, maitrisant sa peur, car ayant foi en son leitmotiv intérieur « On ne risque rien, car on fait du bien, Dieu va nous protéger » ! Elle est profondément bouleversée par ces vies sacrifiées dans ces luttes fratricides. « C’est le fils qui tue le père, c’est le père qui tue son fils » dit-elle.
En 1995, lorsque vingt-cinq soldats meurent, beaucoup de femmes au niveau régional et national, la rejoignent dans son combat pour la paix, « ce ne sont pas seulement des fils de Dakar qui meurent, ce sont eux aussi nos frères et nos pères ». Le conflit casamançais lui fait perdre terres et sources de revenus. Elle crée en 1983 l’Association pour la Promotion de la Mère et l’Enfant Kagamen qui a pour but d’aider les femmes déplacées comme elle, d’assister et de former les victimes des mines anti personnel, d’encourager les femmes à retourner dans leur localité et à créer des activités génératrices de revenus.
En effet, dès les premiers tumultes annonciateurs du conflit en Casamance, la « fondatrice » de KAGAMEN, Halimatou SOUARE s’est montrée très prévenante en initiant déjà en 1983, la première marche pour la paix, accompagnée en cela de 5 hommes que sont entre autres Aba Diatta, ancien adjoint de Robert Sagna à la mairie de Ziguinchor, un ancien gendarme du nom de Malamine Mané, Kémo Sané, Malamine Diémé et Moussa Sadio. Plusieurs marches suivront par la suite, réclamant toutes le retour définitif de la paix en Casamance.
À côté des marches et longues processions accompagnées de chants traditionnels et sacrés, plusieurs autres activités de sensibilisation ont été initiées par KAGAMEN pour faire revenir la paix dans la partie sud du pays. Le lancement de la dernière grande marche couronnant une vaste campagne de sensibilisation pour la paix à travers les trois départements de la région a été présidée en 2005 par le Premier Ministre d’alors, Macky Sall à la tête d’une forte délégation ministérielle. Elle s’est déroulée les 12, 17, 20 et 22 novembre 2005 respectivement à Niassya, Cabrousse, Bignona et Niaguis autour du thème « Femme et conflit armé ». La ministre de la Femme et de la Famille, Ndioro Ndiaye l’avait soutenue depuis le début dans ses initiatives. Le ministre de l’Environnement de l’époque était venu à une rencontre avec les acteurs de la rébellion. Halimatou gagne une légitimité de porte-voix de la population auprès des autorités.
Malgré sa volonté de neutralité politique, Halimatou a été élue adjointe au maire de Mangagoulack, une commune constituée de huit villages près de Bignona, ce qui lui donna plus d’influence au niveau local. Dans la région de Ziguinchor, les femmes organisées en plusieurs groupements (GIE) la sollicitent pour trouver des bailleurs afin de résoudre leurs problèmes d’irrigation, de clôtures, de commercialisation de leurs produits, etc… Elles ont conscience que travailler pour la sécurité alimentaire, améliorer leurs conditions de vie, est essentiel pour maintenir leurs enfants dans la région. Pourtant elles se sentent toujours aussi délaissées, elles et leur si belle région, ce sentiment qui était à l’origine de leur soutien au conflit à ses débuts, persiste… Convaincue que l’apaisement des tensions passe par le développement de la région,

Halimatou œuvre sans relâche dans ce but, en initiant de nombreux projets avec l’appui d’organisations internationales.
Jusqu’à nos jours, les déplacés sont nombreux, les handicapés, victimes de mines, sont formés par Mme Halimatou, même si l’accompagnement de ses derniers ne suit pas. De même, pour les rebelles qui ont déposé les armes. Aujourd’hui, l’un des projets phares d’Halimatou est la mise en place du Musée de la Femme Africaine en Casamance. À travers ce projet de valorisation de la femme, KAGAMEN s’est fixé comme objectif de promouvoir la paix, en Casamance, dans la sous-région et en Afrique en général à travers un lieu de concertation, cadre d’échanges sur les problématiques qui secouent les foyers africains avec une forte mobilisation des femmes leaders de l’Afrique tout entière.
Elle continue le combat pour la paix et pour le développement !

 

00:00
00:00
Retour haut de page