Christiane Agboton Johnson
Of disarming willpower

Courageous and determined Giant, is engaged in peace and in creating awareness of the danger linked with small weapons in Africa. 

Daughter of a mother one of the first feminists activists in Benin and of a father who raised her and her three male siblings to be at a young age sensitized on issues of equality and the role of women in society. Through her union with Alain Agboton, a journalist, she discovered the fascinating world of media and defense of Human Rights.
How did a dental surgeon who taught at the Cheikh Anta Diop University in Dakar come to oppose the spread of weapons?
Christiane is actively involved in her church women’s group. There was an opportunity to attend a meeting in Ghana on the issue of weapons in the sub-region, she was selected due to her mastery of English and was the first time she was exposed to matters of the military. This was in September 1998.
In early 1999, she became involved in security issues by participating in a regional workshop in Bamako. This led to the creation of the Movement Against Light Weapons in West Africa (MALAO) with a diverse and committed team including Penda Mbow, Gisèle Quenum and Alain Agboton. "It is my faith in God that has kept me in this cause ... I believe that God is the master of life ... there is no reason why just because someone has a weapon in his hands, he can say I am taking another's life.” said Christiane on her motivation around this work. This is also how she came to work with the defense and security forces, going to the headquarters and launching the activities of the NGO.
Christiane Agboton Johnson is passionate about her work and this took her Casamance to gain a better understanding of the reality people faced. She met the stakeholders: political figures, defense and security forces officials, leaders of the Movement of Democratic Forces of Senegal and civilians; one observation was obvious: women were at the forefront, working on the issues of spread and circulation of light weapons.

"It was these local women, who would meet the different factions, go everywhere without fear and carry messages: what use are these weapons to us? We don't make them, we kill ourselves with them, we get into debt, because once we've killed ourselves and destroyed our infrastructure, we will have to rebuild.
Trust, peace and harmony are difficult to rebuild! This is why women's leadership is essential in issues of peace and security! »
Children and youth are also a key target of MALAO's program work.

MALAO began working at the national level in Dakar and locally in Casamance even before the National Commission was created; as early as 2000, MALAO worked to push Senegal to set up a body to deal with the issue of light weapons, leading to the creation of the National Commission for the Fight against Spread and Circulation of SALW based at the Ministry of Armed Forces. At the West African level was created the West African Network RASALAO and especially the ECOWAS Convention. "We can say that the civil society and its recommendations initiated the ECOWAS Convention, which is truly a pioneering document".
She spent a lot of time and travel representing these issues outside of her other professional duties. In 2007, she applied for the position of Deputy Director at the United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research (UNIDIR) in Geneva and was hired in 2008. She had nothing more to prove as a dentist and formally left practice.
At UNIDIR, she was proud to have contributed to the design and voting mechanism by the UN General Assembly of the Arms Trade Treaty, through seminars held around the world and the documentation brought to diplomats prior to each major negotiating meeting.
She returned to Senegal after four years with the idea of creating a structure linking the Defense and Security Forces and civilians. It was then that she was invited to participate in the conceptualization of the Center for Advanced Defense and Security Studies, CHEDS.
The CHEDS has been in existence since 2013 and, through its human security option, trains various actors in defense and security issues, conducts research and creates spaces for exchange and dialogue. As the Advisor first, then evolving to Director of Special Programs, she was keen to set up a program focused on women whose great expertise in the field is little capitalized and who are rarely found at peace negotiation tables.
Dr. Christiane Agboton Johnson strongly believes in women's leadership in defense, security and peace issues.

00:00
00:00
en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Christiane Agboton Johnson
D’une volonté désarmante

Géante courageuse et déterminée, atypique, engagée pour la paix et consciente  des dangers liés à la prolifération des armes légères en Afrique 

Fille d’une mère qui fut l’une des premières activistes féministes au Bénin et d’un père qui l’a élevée comme ses trois autres garçons, Christiane Johnson fut très tôt sensibilisée aux questions d’égalité et au rôle des femmes dans la société. De par son union avec Alain Agboton, journaliste, elle a découvert le monde fascinant des Médias et de la défense des Droits Humains.
Comment une chirurgienne-dentiste, qui enseignait à l’Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar en est arrivée à s’opposer à la prolifération des armes ?
Très engagée dans le groupe des femmes de son église, elle est choisie, en raison de sa maîtrise de l’anglais, pour assister à une réunion au Ghana, sur la question des armes dans la sous-région. C’était en septembre 1998 et la première fois qu’elle côtoyait d’aussi près des militaires.
Début 1999, elle s’engage sur les questions de sécurité en participant à un atelier régional à Bamako. Il s’ensuit la création du Mouvement contre les armes légères en Afrique de l’Ouest (MALAO) en s’entourant d’une équipe diversifiée et engagée, au sein de laquelle, Penda Mbow, Gisèle Quenum et Alain Agboton. « C’est ma foi en Dieu qui m’a gardé dans cette cause… J’estime que c’est Dieu qui est le maître de la vie… il n’y a pas de raison que juste parce que quelqu’un a une arme en mains, il puisse dire je prends la vie d’un autre ». C’est ainsi qu’elle fut amenée à travailler avec les forces de défense et de sécurité, à aller dans les états-majors et lancer les activités de l’ONG.
Christiane Agboton Johnson se passionne pour cette cause, et va sur le terrain en Casamance pour mieux appréhender la réalité à laquelle les personnes étaient confrontées. Elle a ainsi rencontré toutes les parties prenantes : autorités politiques, responsables des forces de défense et de sécurité, autorités du Mouvement des Forces Démocratiques du Sénégal, civils ; un constat était flagrant : les femmes étaient aux avant-postes pour travailler sur la thématique de la prolifération et de la circulation des armes légères.

« Ce sont ces femmes du terroir, qui pouvaient rencontrer les différentes factions, aller partout, sans crainte, pour porter des messages : ces armes à quoi nous servent-elles ? Nous ne les fabriquons pas, nous nous tuons avec, nous nous endettons, parce qu’une fois qu’on s’est bien tués et qu’on a détruit toutes nos infrastructures, il faut reconstruire.
Et la confiance, la paix, l’harmonie sont difficiles à rebâtir ! C’est pourquoi le leadership féminin est essentiel dans les questions de paix et de sécurité ! »
Les enfants et les jeunes sont aussi une cible privilégiée des programmes du MALAO.

Le MALAO a commencé à travailler au niveau national à Dakar et local en Casamance avant même que la Commission Nationale, ne soit créée ; dès 2000, le MALAO a œuvré pour pousser le Sénégal à se doter d’un organe qui traite de cette thématique des armes légères, aboutissant ainsi à la création de la Commission Nationale de Lutte contre la Prolifération et la Circulation des ALPC, basée au ministère des Forces Armées. Au niveau ouest-africain, il y a eu la création du Réseau Ouest-africain RASALAO et surtout l’élaboration de la Convention de la CEDEAO. « On peut dire que c’est à partir de la société civile et suite à ses recommandations que la convention de la CEDEAO, qui est vraiment un document d’avant-garde, a été conçue ».
Les représentations et les voyages s’enchaîneront et prendront de plus en plus de temps sur son activité professionnelle initiale. Ainsi, en 2007, elle postule, puis est engagée en 2008 au poste de Directeur Adjoint à l’Institut des Nations Unies pour la Recherche sur le Désarmement (UNIDIR) à Genève, n’ayant plus rien à prouver en tant que dentiste.
Au sein de l’UNIDIR, elle est fière d’avoir pu contribuer à la conception et au vote par l’Assemblée Générale des Nations Unies du Traité pour réguler le commerce des armes, grâce aux séminaires organisés dans le monde entier et à la documentation apportée aux diplomates avant chaque grande réunion de négociation.
Elle revient au Sénégal au bout de quatre années, avec l’idée de créer une structure mettant en lien les Forces de défense et de sécurité et les civils. C’est alors qu’elle est invitée à participer à la conceptualisation du Centre des Hautes Études de Défense et de Sécurité, le CHEDS.
Celui-ci existe depuis 2013 et de par son option sécurité humaine, il forme différents acteurs et actrices aux questions de défense et de sécurité, fait de la recherche et crée des espaces d’échange et de dialogue. En tant que conseillère, puis Directeur des Programmes Spéciaux, elle a tenu à mettre en place un programme axé sur les femmes, dont la grande expertise sur le terrain est peu capitalisée, et on les retrouve peu aux tables de négociation pour la paix.
Le Dr Christiane Agboton Johnson croit profondément au leadership féminin dans les questions de défense, sécurité et paix.

00:00
00:00
fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page