Mame Penda Ba
Of science and of Pragmatism

A Giant of political and social sciences, visionary, engaged in a revolution in academic thinking in Africa. 

Aged 41, this mother of three is from Saint-Louis although she was born and educated in Dakar, where her parents were civil servants. After her baccalaureate, she went to France for two preparatory classes in Philosophy and Letters which enabled her to continue her studies at Sciences Po Paris and obtain her doctorate in Political Science. Since 2011, she graduated in Political Science from CAMES.
Mame Penda Ba, professor-researcher at the University Gaston Berger of Saint-Louis, is the first woman to be aggregated in Political Science in Senegal.
She is currently the Deputy Director of the Faculty of Law and Political Science at the University of Saint-Louis.

Her willingness to think about people and societies led to the creation of the Laboratory for the Analysis of African Societies and Diasporas (LASPAD) of which she has been the Director in the last five years. From the outset, its characteristic involved a multidisciplinary way of thinking that aims at trans-disciplinarity.
The laboratory was founded with two other academics, bringing together three fields: Economics, Anthropology, History and Political Science to produce new concepts. "We wanted to reflect on African societies and on the nature of power (at local, national, international level) from the social sciences in general", but especially from the hard sciences (mathematics, computer science, etc.). By transcending the classical cleavages of disciplines, this very young laboratory produced a collective research that allowed for results inscribed in a world in constant evolution.
Mame Penda Ba is part of the small community of local political scientists who Africanise the content of their teaching. The community also works with the resources of the prestigious Center for Linguistic and Historical Studies by Oral Tradition (CELHTO) based in Niger in order to go far back in the history of political ideas. For her, the role of the African University in this field is to "give voice and presence to unexpected African authors, alongside others more classical ones”.
According to her, political sciences respond to a need to think about fundamental questions such as: "How our societies, despite extremely strong and powerful shocks, do not fundamentally lose the memory of what they have been, while having to deal with the foreign, transforming it into endogenous? »
"These societies are going to transform themselves in an accelerated way. And we, Africans, are forced to reflect on the kind of human society that is being created. Through technological issues, we deal with philosophical, anthropological and economic questioning. "

Always ready to change perspectives, this teacher-researcher integrates perplexity, doubt and circumspection into her methodology with students. For example, in the study of Democracy: "in the work of perfecting this system proposed to us, Africa and especially African youth have something to say. It is perhaps in the richness of our cultures that we will find ways to overcome the tensions of this system". This is how she would like to turn the Senegalese University into a university that addresses concerns of the population at large, focusing more research into field studies and finding concrete solutions.

 

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Mame Penda Ba
De science et de pragmatisme

Une géante des sciences politiques et sociales, visionnaire, engagée pour une  révolution de la pensée universitaire dans ce domaine au service de l’Afrique. 

Agée de 41 ans, cette mère de trois enfants se réclame de Saint-Louis quoiqu’étant née et ayant fait ses études à Dakar, où ses parents fonctionnaires étaient affectés. Après son bac, elle est allée en France faire deux classes préparatoires Philosophie et Lettres, cela lui a permis de continuer ses études à Sciences Po Paris et d’y obtenir son doctorat de Sciences politiques. Depuis 2011, elle est agrégée en Sciences politiques du CAMES.
Mame Penda Ba, professeure-chercheuse à l’Université Gaston Berger de Saint-Louis, est la première femme agrégée en Sciences politiques au Sénégal.
Elle est actuellement Directrice Adjointe de la Faculté de Droit et Sciences politiques à l’Université de Saint-Louis.

Sa volonté de penser les sociétés a conduit à la création du Laboratoire d’Analyse des Sociétés d’Afrique et Diasporas (LASPAD) dont elle est la Directrice et qui existe depuis cinq années. Dès le départ, sa caractéristique est une pensée pluridisciplinaire qui vise la transdisciplinarité.
Il a été fondé avec deux autres universitaires en réunissant leurs trois domaines : Économie, Anthropologie, Histoire et Sciences politiques, pour produire des concepts nouveaux. « Nous voulions réfléchir sur les sociétés africaines et sur la nature des pouvoirs (niveau local, national, international) à partir des sciences sociales en général », mais aussi des sciences dures (mathématiques, informatique, etc.). En transcendant les clivages classiques des disciplines, ce très jeune laboratoire produit une recherche collective qui permet d’avoir des résultats inscrits dans un monde en évolution constante.
Mame Penda Ba fait partie de la petite communauté des politistes locaux qui cherchent à africaniser le contenu de leur enseignement. Ceux-ci travaillent aussi à partir des ressources du prestigieux Centre d’Études linguistiques et historiques par Tradition orale (CELHTO) basé au Niger, afin de remonter très loin dans l’histoire des idées politiques. Pour elle, le rôle de l’Université Africaine est dans ce domaine, de « donner voix et présence à des auteurs africains inattendus à côté d’autres, plus classiques ».
Selon elle, les sciences politiques répondent à un besoin de penser les questions fondamentales telles que : « Comment nos sociétés en dépit des chocs extrêmement forts et puissants, ne perdent pas fondamentalement le souvenir de ce qu’elles ont été, tout en ayant à faire face à l’étranger et en le transformant en endogène ? »
« Ces sociétés vont se transformer de façon accélérée. Et nous, les Africains, sommes obligés de réfléchir sur le type de société humaine qui est en train de se mettre en place. À travers la question technologique, on retrouve le questionnement philosophique, anthropologique, économique. »

Toujours prête à changer de perspective, cette enseignante-chercheuse intègre la perplexité, le doute et la circonspection dans sa méthodologie avec les étudiants. Par exemple, dans l’étude de la Démocratie : « dans le travail de perfectionnement de ce système proposé par des hommes, l’Afrique et surtout la jeunesse africaine a quelque chose à dire. C’est peut-être dans la richesse de nos cultures qu’on trouvera de quoi dépasser les tensions qui existent dans ce système ». C’est ainsi qu’elle voudrait faire de l’Université sénégalaise, une université qui se penche sur les préoccupations des populations en poussant plus la recherc

 

fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page