Astou Diagne Diop
Of Ethics and of Equality

Astou is an outstanding economist, gender, technical strategist, organized and methodical, her motto “value women’s potential.” 

With a Master's degree in Economic Sciences from the Sorbonne University at Paris and a Master's degree in Project Management from the University of Quebec in Montreal, Astou Diop returned to Senegal to join the Ministry of Planning where she made her first steps as a development technician. During her time at the Ministry, she acquired the professional skills that she still uses today, namely her sense of organization and methodology to which she has combined with her great personal qualities such as simplicity, availability and generosity. It is without doubt that this mindset has been the key to her remarkable performance throughout all stages of her professional development.
In 1989, when she was Deputy Director of Planning, she was called to the position of National Manager of the Plan by Mrs. Ndioro Ndiaye, Minister of Social Development, to manage the FENU project phase: “Economic Promotion of Women's Group.” It did not take very long for Astou Diop to commit to this project both at a technical and a ground level for the cause of women. Diop was also distinguished by her professionalism and exceptional commitment to making this job successful and achieving all of its goals.
From 1993 to 1999 she held the following positions in succession, as a Technical Advisor and Director of Family Welfare at both the Ministry of Women, Youth and Family and the Ministry of Family, Social Action and National Solidarity.

As a United Nations staff member in Guinea-Bissau from 1991 to 1993 and in Madagascar from 1999 to 2002, she worked both as a consultant expert on gender mainstreaming policies, programs, and projects at the World Bank Group and UNFPA, CIDA, IDRC, UNDP and ECA
A proven development activist with a track of achievements and constant determination, Mrs. Astou Diop Diagne has always dedicated her work to Senegal so that the country is at the rendez-vous of giving and receiving, both nationally and internationally with a spirit of complementarity, solidarity and justice. She successfully conducted the process of Senegal's participation in the 1995 World Conference on Women in Beijing, by organizing the African Regional Conference in Dakar in 1994 and Senegal's technical preparation for its contribution to the Conference, developing the second National Action Plan for Women in 1996, as recommended in Beijing, and the formulation of the "National Strategy for Equity and Gender Equality in Beijing, 2005-2015" in 2004.

According to her, it is extremely important today that Africans Rising should take up the empowerment of women as its central priority. "Because nothing in development can be done without women. (...) It is important to value, not woman as woman, but to value the potential of woman. And this potential is indispensable for the development of the country, the development of the Nation." This is extremely important because enhancing this potential is to lift up the image of women leaders and of every woman who has done something significant in their sector.
“I would like all the women, all the men who are here, to listen to me and take this message with you: It is often said that "behind every man, there is a great lady," but behind the great lady there is also a great man; my husband has been a very great man who has always been very supportive.”

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Astou Diagne Diop
D’équité et d’égalité

Géante économiste, planificatrice en genre et développement, technicienne  stratège, organisée et méthodique, son leitmotiv « valoriser le potentiel des  femmes ». 

Diplômée d’une maîtrise en Sciences économiques de l’Université de la Sorbonne à Paris et d’un Master en Gestion de projet de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, Astou Diop est rentrée au Sénégal pour intégrer le Ministère du Plan où elle fit ses premiers pas en tant que technicienne du développement. C’est là qu’elle a acquis les qualités professionnelles qui sont les siennes, encore aujourd’hui, en l’occurrence l’organisation et la méthode auxquelles elle a su allier de grandes qualités personnelles : la simplicité, la disponibilité et la générosité. C’est, sans doute, là que réside le secret de ses performances à toutes les étapes de son parcours professionnel.
En 1989, alors qu’elle occupe la fonction de Directrice Adjointe du Plan, elle est appelée par Mme Ndioro Ndiaye, Ministre du Développement Social, pour prendre en charge, le projet FENU dans sa phase « Promotion Economique des Groupements Féminins » en tant que Directrice Nationale. Il n’en fallait pas plus pour qu’Astou Diop s’engage toute entière sur le plan technique, mais aussi sur le terrain pour la cause des femmes. Là aussi, elle se distingue par son professionnalisme et son goût exceptionnel pour le travail bien fait et l’atteinte des résultats tels que prévus.
C’est ainsi qu’elle occupe, de 1993 à 1999, tour à tour, les fonctions de Conseillère Technique et de Directrice du Bien-être Familial au Ministère de la Femme, de l’Enfant et de la Famille et au Ministère de la Famille, de l’Action Sociale et de la Solidarité nationale.

Fonctionnaire des Nations Unies, en Guinée-Bissau de 1991 à 1993 et à Madagascar de 1999 à 2002, elle est également intervenue en tant qu’Experte consultante sur la prise en compte du genre dans les politiques, programmes et projets à la Banque Mondiale, à l’UNFPA, à l’ACDI, au CRDI, au PNUD et à la CEA.
Militante avérée du développement, de par son parcours et sa détermination, Mme Astou Diop Diagne a toujours œuvré, pour que le Sénégal soit au rendez-vous du donner et du recevoir tant au niveau national qu’international, et cela toujours dans un esprit de complémentarité, de solidarité et de justice. On lui doit la conduite du processus de participation du Sénégal à la Conférence mondiale sur les Femmes de Beijing 1995, à travers l’organisation de la Conférence Régionale Africaine de Dakar en 1994 et la préparation technique du Sénégal pour sa contribution à ladite Conférence, l’élaboration du deuxième Plan d’action National de la Femme en 1996, tel que recommandé à Beijing ou encore la formulation de la « Stratégie Nationale pour l’Équité et l’Égalité de Genre 2005-2015 » en 2004.

Selon elle, c’est extrêmement important aujourd’hui qu’Africans Rising fasse du combat des femmes, pour leur promotion et autonomisation, son cheval de bataille. « Parce que rien en matière de développement ne pourra se faire sans les femmes. (…) Il est important de valoriser, pas la femme en tant que femme, mais de valoriser le potentiel de la femme. Et ce potentiel-là, il est indispensable au développement du pays, au développement de la Nation ». Valoriser ce potentiel, c’est renvoyer l’image des femmes leaders, renvoyer l’image des femmes leaders ou non, qui ont fait quelque chose de marquant dans leur secteur, c’est extrêmement important.
Je voudrais que toutes les femmes qui sont ici, tous les hommes qui sont ici, que vous m’écoutiez, que vous emportiez ça avec vous : On dit souvent que « derrière chaque homme, il y a une grande dame », mais derrière la grande dame, il y a eu aussi un grand homme, mon mari a été un très grand homme qui m’a énormément soutenue ».

fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page