Fatime Faye
Of Liberty and of Knowledge

Engaged feminist Giant, filled with compassion! Her Philosophy is Freedom feminist glowing with empathy and humility, freedom is her philosophy, sharing is her creed, helping is her motto.

A lover of freedom, Fatime Faye settled 15 years ago in the small Lebou village of Toubab Dialaw.
This taste for freedom was born in Gorée where she spent her childhood running around in shorts all over the island, swimming around the island, from hours on end without her parents knowing exactly where she was. That was life in the village. Everyone knew each other and kept an eye out for each other's children. Her move to the mainland to go to high school coincided with the feeling of suffering from the loss of this freedom.
Since then, she has always questioned the conformism of society, the codes that constrain women in particular. Her life as a woman is a reflection of her free childhood with a firm will to push back the shackles.

As an engaged feminist, she brings women together for training activities that are pretexts to strengthen solidarity between them. Her house welcomes them to realize collective work. The first literacy workshop took place in her garage eight years ago. She called on people around her who can share the know-how that will benefit the community. Women can also take refuge at her home when they want to rest or temporarily stay away from family problems. This is how, in small steps, she reinforces their empowerment. This is not an easy task because women are easily stuck within their household routine and societal constraints.
She has also set up a program to keep young girls in school when they encounter difficulties. To do this, she identifies the ten best students through her friend who is a teacher and encourages others to follow their example. In 2018, the young girls she has been coaching, since the sixth grade graduated from high school. Fatime Faye finances this program based on her income during the year or by requesting support from generous contributors around her.
Her hope for the presidential elections: "It would be a good thing for this country that there is a worthy female candidate who goes very far in this election, beyond the first round; and it would be best if she wins the elections. This would be good for women because although they are politically involved, they only get the secondary roles. This would encourage women to take leadership and increase their participation in public affairs.
She is involved in a number of associations such as the Dakar Xewel Toastmasters club (personal development in communication and leadership), the Pan African leaders Network (PANel), and the Collectif Doyna Stop à la Mendicité des Enfants (Stop Child Begging.)
When we talk to her about a problem, we always leave with one of her solutions that she has in abundance in her toolbox... She is an outstanding facilitator, she is also a trainer and a life coach.
She has put a large part of her life at the service of projects in the struggle for human rights and solidarity.
She helps everyone, all the time, by all the means at her disposal: her time, her energy, her advice, her skills, her money, her house, her network?

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Fatime Faye
De liberté et de savoir

Géante féministe engagée, rayonnante d’empathie et d’humilité ! Liberté est sa philosophie de vie, partager est son credo, aider est son leitmotiv.

Éprise de liberté, Fatime Faye s’est installée depuis 15 ans, dans le petit village lébou de Toubab Dialaw.
Ce goût pour la liberté est né à Gorée où elle a passé son enfance à courir en short à travers toute l’île, à en faire le tour à la nage, à partir des heures sans que ses parents ne sachent exactement où elle se trouvait. C’était la vie au village. Tout le monde se connaissait et jetait un œil sur les enfants des uns et des autres. Son déménagement sur le continent pour aller au lycée, a coïncidé avec le sentiment de souffrance de la perte de cette liberté.
Depuis, elle a toujours remis en question le conformisme de la société, les codes qui contraignent la femme particulièrement. Sa vie de femme est à l’image de son enfance libre avec une ferme volonté de repousser les carcans.

Féministe engagée, elle regroupe les femmes autour d’activités formatrices qui sont des prétextes pour renforcer la solidarité entre elles. Sa maison les accueille pour réaliser des travaux collectifs. Le premier atelier d’alphabétisation a eu lieu dans son garage, il y a huit ans. Elle fait appel à des personnes de son entourage qui peuvent partager un savoir-faire qui leur sera utile. Elles peuvent aussi s’y réfugier quand elles veulent se reposer ou se soustraire temporairement aux problèmes familiaux. C’est ainsi, qu’à petits pas, qu’elle renforce leur empowerment. La tâche n’est pas aisée, car les femmes sont engluées dans leur routine ménagère et leurs contraintes sociétales.
Elle a également mis en place un programme de maintien des jeunes filles à l’école, quand celles-ci rencontrent des difficultés. Pour ce faire, elle identifie les dix meilleures élèves via un ami instituteur afin d’inciter les autres à suivre leur exemple. En 2018, des jeunes filles qu’elle suit depuis la sixième décrochent le bac. Fatime Faye finance ce programme en fonction des revenus qu’elle a eus dans l’année, ou en sollicitant des personnes bienfaitrices de son entourage.
Ses espoirs pour les élections présidentielles « Ce serait une bonne chose pour ce pays qu’il y ait une candidate valable qui aille très loin dans cette élection, au-delà du premier tour ; et le mieux serait qu’elle gagne les élections. Cela ferait du bien aux femmes, car bien que celles-ci soient impliquées politiquement, elles n’écopent que des seconds rôles. Cela encouragerait les femmes à prendre le leadership et boosterait leur participation dans la chose publique ».
Elle est engagée dans bon nombre d’associations comme le Dakar Xewel Toastmasters club (développement personnel en communication et leadership) ou le Réseau Pan Africain des leaders (PANel) ou encore dans le Collectif Doyna Stop à la Mendicité des Enfants.
Quand on lui parle d’un problème, on repart toujours avec une de ses solutions qu’elle a en abondance dans sa boite à outils… C’est une facilitatrice hors pair, c’est aussi une formatrice et une coach de vie.
Elle a mis une grande partie de sa vie au service des projets de lutte pour les droits humains et pour la solidarité.
Elle aide tout le monde, tout le temps, par tous les moyens dont elle dispose : son temps, son énergie, ses conseils, ses compétences, son argent, sa maison, son réseau…

fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page