Patricia Gomis
Of Theater and of Joy

Giant artist, comedian, juggler and clown...with a big heart and passion for children, works on protecting and educating them for a brighter future 

In 1994, Patricia Gomis discovered her passion for theater by accident. In Dakar, she participated in a workshop led by playwright Omar Ndao and Brazilian director Marcia de Castro: "We put together a little story that we played at the Fann Hospital and it touched me so much that I decided not to do anything else but theater for children." Her vocation came to light!
This initiation allowed her to obtain a grant from the French Cultural Center to develop her skills in Paris during the Radka Riaskova theater expression. During this stay, she met the director Ariane Mnouchkine and Alain Blanchard, masters in the art of mime and Clown Theater
Back in Dakar, she met with her friends Marcia de Castro and together they created "Côté Jardin", the first clown company in Senegal and toured the continent (West and Central Africa) and internationally, performing sketches in schools, hospitals and orphanages.
In 2005, she created the association and company Djarama with her husband and brothers, and later in 2015, the DjaramArt center, dedicated to Arts for Youth.

It is in the surrounding areas of Toubab Dialaw that Patricia, her family and her tribe of utopians, and their association Djarama, have made their home together sharing the joy of living.
This happens at their home, the community elementary school, their residence for artists and performers. They even use a magnificent outdoor theater in perfect communion with nature and animals. She has chosen to dedicate her life to the awakening of youth through education, arts and culture, agroecology and the protection of the environment…
The community school is a great success and is adding classes every year or two. There are a lot of school programs facilitated by permanent staff members passionate about their profession, and specialized volunteers who come to lend a hand. A vegetable garden is partly cultivated by the children, in order to teach them the importance of Mother Earth and the solidarity economy. This educational framework is designed outside the common approach, allowing children to be happy by respecting the uniqueness of each child while helping them be more aware, motivated and active in their own lives.
The association often presents shows for children with national or international companies; there are regular theater workshops, juggling workshops or clowning arts, festivals and awareness days for the parents and the students.
More than just a space, the Djarama concession is first and foremost a lifestyle: "I have understood, since the age of twenty, that I had a choice. From that moment on, I changed my life. I decided to perform theater for children. I chose my husband. I chose my profession not as a job to earn money but work
to fulfill myself as a human being.”

A colorful and totally free DjaramArt festival takes place every year in Dakar and in the streets of Ndayane, which is a great joy for underprivileged children.
Patricia is committed to the future of children, especially African children facing harsh realities and against child begging. She constantly seeks to give them keys to build themselves, the subjects of her shows are designed to make them think as actors and future responsible for their world. "To be an artist is first of all to be someone who awakens consciences. All our shows deal with very strong or taboo subjects: excision, early marriage, access of girls to school or child begging, or the environment. » Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
It is by preparing her annual jams with her harvest of lemons that she reveals her choice to live in community.
"We try to live with the awareness that we are in a country where we don't have everything. So we don't live beyond our means, we don't look for the money to get the nice car. We simply live with the essentials, to be with the people who are close to us. »
And she puts into practice everything she tries to pass on to the children: composting, producing a minimum of waste, organic farming, food autonomy, alternative and renewable energy.

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Patricia Gomis
De théâtre et de joie

Géante artiste, comédienne, jongleuse et clown… avec un cœur si grand qu’elle  y loge tous les enfants, les protège, les éduque pour un meilleur avenir. 

C’est en 1994, un peu par hasard que Patricia Gomis se découvre une passion pour le théâtre… À Dakar, elle participe à l’atelier animé par le dramaturge Omar Ndao et la metteuse en scène brésilienne, Marcia de Castro. « On a monté un petit conte qu’on a joué à l’Hôpital Fann et cela m’a tellement touchée et marquée que j’ai décidé de ne plus faire que du théâtre pour enfants. » Sa vocation était née !
Cette initiation lui permet d’obtenir une bourse du Centre Culturel Français pour se perfectionner à Paris au cours d’expression théâtrale Radka Riaskova. Durant ce séjour, elle rencontre la metteuse en scène Ariane Mnouchkine ou encore Alain Blanchard, maître dans l’art du mime et du théâtre clownesque.
De retour à Dakar, elle retrouve ses camarades et Marcia de Castro avec qui elle crée « Côté Jardin » première compagnie clownesque du Sénégal avec laquelle elle sillonnera l’Afrique de l’Ouest, du Centre et une partie du monde en jouant des sketchs dans les écoles, les hôpitaux et les orphelinats.
En 2005, elle crée l’association et compagnie Djarama avec son époux et ses frères, et en 2015, le centre DjaramArt dédié aux Arts destinés à la jeunesse.

C’est dans la brousse de Toubab Dialaw que Patricia, sa famille et sa tribu d’utopistes, leur association Djarama, ont élu domicile, dans le partage et dans la joie de vivre.
C’est dans ce lieu, avec leurs habitations, une école primaire communautaire, un lieu de résidence pour les artistes et les intervenants, un magnifique théâtre en plein air, en parfaite communion avec la Nature et les Animaux, qu’elle a choisi de dédier sa vie à l’éveil de la Jeunesse par l’éducation, par les Arts et la Culture, par l’agroécologie et la protection de l’environnement…
L’école communautaire rencontre un vif succès et s’agrandit chaque année d’une classe ou deux… Il y a une grande diversité de programmes scolaires, animés par des permanents passionnés par leur métier, des bénévoles spécialisés venus prêter main forte, un jardin potager y est cultivé en partie par les enfants, afin de leur apprendre l’importance de la terre nourricière et l’économie solidaire. Ce cadre éducatif hors du commun permet aux enfants de s’épanouir dans le respect de la spécificité de chacun, d’être conscients, motivés et acteurs de leur propre vie.
L’association présente souvent des spectacles pour enfants avec des compagnies nationales ou internationales, il y a régulièrement des ateliers de théâtre, de jonglage ou d’arts clownesques, des journées festives et de prise de conscience avec les parents et les enfants.
Plus qu’un simple espace, la concession Djarama est d’abord un choix de vie. « J’ai compris à l’âge de vingt ans que j’avais le choix. Dès cet instant cela a changé ma vie. J’ai choisi de faire du théâtre pour enfants, j’ai choisi mon mari. J’ai choisi mon métier parce que ce n’est pas un métier que je fais pour gagner de l’argent, mais pour
m’accomplir en tant qu’être humain. »

Un festival DjaramArt, haut en couleur, totalement gratuit a lieu chaque année à Dakar et dans les rues de Ndayane, et qui fait le grand bonheur des enfants démunis.
Patricia s’engage pour le devenir des enfants, notamment les enfants d’Afrique confrontés à de dures réalités et contre la mendicité des enfants… Elle cherche constamment à leur donner des clés pour se construire, les sujets de ses spectacles sont conçus pour les faire réfléchir en tant qu’acteurs et futurs responsables de leur monde. « Être artiste, c’est d’abord être quelqu’un qui éveille les consciences. Tous nos spectacles abordent des sujets très forts ou tabous : l’excision, le mariage précoce, l’accès des filles à l’école ou la mendicité des enfants, ou encore l’environnement. »
C’est en préparant ses confitures annuelles avec sa récolte de citrons qu’elle se livre sur son choix de vivre en communauté.
« On essaie de vivre en étant conscient qu’on est dans un pays où on n’a pas tout. Donc on ne vit pas au-dessus de nos moyens, on ne cherche pas l’argent pour avoir la belle voiture. On vit simplement avec l’essentiel, pour être avec les gens qui sont près de nous. »
Et elle met en pratique tout ce qu’elle essaie de transmettre aux enfants : le compostage, produire un minimum de déchets, l’agriculture biologique, l’autonomie alimentaire, l’énergie alternative et renouvelable.

00:00
00:00
Retour haut de page