Hulo Guillabert
Of Willpower and of Courage

A pan-Africanist Giant, fierce, idealist, and rebellious in face of social injustice, passionate on the plight for homeless children.

Hulo was born and raised in Senegal until she was 21 years old. Though after 30 years of living abroad, the begging children remained in her memory: "I couldn't forget them, I had this in my mind, it was like a wound that would not heal. I was making petitions and collections for them, even from afar.”
After living in Abidjan, Paris, Reunion Island and Quebec, she has now settled in Toubab Dialaw where she was attracted by friends who look like her.

This pan-African writer, editor, activist and publisher has given up a long career as a consultant in New Information and Communication Technologies (NICT) to return to her native country and lead the pan-African socio-political struggle that she has always been devoted to.
Hulo initiated a collective of associations called "Doyna Stop à la Mendicité des Enfants" in 2014. In the beginning, the collective was seen as an affront within social networks, because there was a religious taboo related to this cause. In fact, in Senegal, no one dared to say openly that those who exploit and abuse children "were criminals who needed to be locked up,” so the collective’s messages led to open struggles in the media and in large rallies.

Since then, there has been great changes in mentalities and a large part of the population now shares this awareness and condemns these crimes.
The collective is now made up of ordinary citizens and associations for the defense and protection of child beggars in Senegal. Contrary to the associations that come to the aid of begging children, the collective leads the struggle on the ideological and political terrain by calling on the state to solve the problem of these street children once and for all. Only the state has the governing power and potential political will to enforce actions throughout the country. Moreover, a law exists that punishes these crimes, but it is not enforced!
Hulo denounces and confronts the state with its responsibilities to protect children and asks that it finally respects its adherence to the international conventions committed to this issue.

She speaks out: “It is really time to find a lasting and definitive solution to this problem for these children that bad fate, indifference, and neglect of our state and our society tend to dehumanize... They are human beings and what’s more, they are children at very young ages!”
In addition, the collective decided to refuse all external funding in order to keep a clear, honest and independent line of action, and to show that the Senegalese can organize and denounce their problems themselves.
Hulo Guillabert's virulence and pugnacity, which greatly fuelled the visibility of the campaigns on social networks and in the media, made him the very embodiment of this struggle. This is how she was able to unite many people for the cause. "This will to rebel, to act and to assume her responsibilities in all circumstances, she acquired it from her father, a strong man with great values. He educated us the hard way, but at the same time, he showed us a lot of affection and left room for protest when he committed injustices against us.

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Hulo Guillabert
De volonté et de courage

Une géante panafricaniste, combative, idéaliste, révoltée face aux injustices sociales subies par les enfants mendiants.

Elle est née au Sénégal où elle a vécu jusqu’à ses 21 ans. Après 30 ans de vie à l’extérieur, les enfants mendiants lui restaient en mémoire « Je ne pouvais pas oublier, j’avais cela en moi, c’était comme une plaie qui ne pouvait pas guérir, je faisais des pétitions et des collectes pour eux, même de loin ».
Après Abidjan, Paris, l’Ile de la Réunion, le Québec, elle vit actuellement à Toubab Dialaw, où elle s’est installée, attirée par des amies qui lui ressemblent.

Cette écrivaine, éditrice, activiste panafricaine a abandonné une longue carrière de consultante dans les Nouvelles Technologies de l’Information et de la Communication (NTIC) pour revenir s’installer dans son pays natal et mener un combat politique panafricain et social, qui lui tenait à cœur depuis toujours…
Hulo a initié le collectif d’associations « Doyna Stop à la Mendicité des Enfants » en 2014. Au début, le collectif recevait des insultes sur les réseaux sociaux, car il y avait un tabou religieux lié à cette cause. En fait, au Sénégal, personne n’osait dire ouvertement que des exploiteurs maltraitant des enfants « étaient des criminels qu’il fallait enfermer », mais le collectif l’a fait ouvertement dans les médias et dans des grandes manifestations.

Et depuis, il y a eu un grand changement des mentalités, maintenant, une grande partie de la population partage le même discours et condamne ces crimes.
Ce collectif est constitué de simples citoyens et d’associations de défense et de protection des enfants mendiants du Sénégal. Contrairement aux associations qui viennent en aide aux enfants mendiants, le Collectif lui se bat sur le terrain idéologique et politique en interpellant l’État afin qu’il règle définitivement le problème de ces enfants des rues, car seul l’État a les moyens régaliens (la force de la loi) d’appliquer des actions sur tout le territoire et dans la durée, c’est une question de volonté politique. D’ailleurs une loi existe pour sanctionner ces crimes, mais n’est pas appliquée !
Hulo dénonce et met l’État devant ses responsabilités en matière de protection de l’Enfance et demande qu’il respecte enfin sa signature des conventions internationales à ce sujet.

Elle s’insurge « Il est vraiment temps de trouver une solution durable et définitive pour ces enfants que le mauvais sort, l’indifférence et la négligence de notre État et de notre Société tendent à déshumaniser… Ce sont des êtres humains, et de plus, des enfants souvent en bas âge ! »
Par ailleurs le collectif a décidé de refuser tout financement extérieur afin de garder une ligne d’action claire, intègre et indépendante, et montrer que les Sénégalais peuvent s’organiser et dénoncer eux-mêmes leurs problèmes.
La virulence et la pugnacité de Hulo Guillabert, qui ont grandement alimenté la visibilité des campagnes sur les réseaux sociaux et dans les médias, en ont fait l’incarnation même de cette lutte. C’est ainsi qu’elle a pu fédérer de nombreuses personnes pour la cause. « Cette volonté de se rebeller, d’agir et d’assumer ses responsabilités en toutes circonstances, elle l’acquiert auprès de son père, un homme de poigne avec de belles valeurs. Il nous éduquait à la dure, mais en même temps, il nous montrait beaucoup d’affection et laissait la place à la contestation quand il commettait des injustices à notre égard ».

fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page