Kathy Ndione
Of Nature and of Dedication

An enlightened Giant, solidary and resilient, engaged for the autonomy of women, ecologist by necessity, by resistance and by love of nature.

In a small fishing village on the Petite Côte south of Dakar, Popenguine, known for its pilgrimages around a black virgin for the last 130 years, a group of a hundred women dedicated to the protection of nature, was born around the Thioupam nature reserve, which covers an area of twelve hectares and eight villages.
Kathy Ndione, a mother of seven children, was president of the Women's Group of Popenguine for the Protection of Nature (RFPPN) but she considered herself as a simple member of the group which has existed since 1988.

In those days, men used to fish and cultivate fields of peanuts and millet. Women would help each other in pairs. When one went to sell the fish, the other one stayed home to cook, water the plantations and smoke the fish.
The women offered their services to participate in the rehabilitation of the environment when the national parks were established to preserve the area. They worked to regenerate the forest because as the first beneficiaries, they were the ones who went there daily to fetch firewood and helplessly witnessed the quick rate of deforestation there. In addition, the processing of fish products which provided them with a living was diminishing and there were fewer and fewer fish to smoke in Popenguine.
"...Many women who joined us in this reforestation struggle have been almost divorced by their husbands. We were called "savages" and were considered "crazy" because when our husbands came back from the fields to rest, we would take their tools secretly and leave for the forest and reforest the destroyed areas. What kept us from giving up was the constant desire to leave something behind to our grandchildren, who might otherwise never know what a forest looked like..."
With National Park agents, the women of the collective learned about market gardening and cultivated vegetables from the reserve, which they would sell to vacationers on Sundays. With the national parks, the women of the collective learned gardening and grew vegetables in the reserve which they sold to visitors on Sundays. Their first activity was to learn how to plant and make nurseries. They made seedlings of fruit and forest trees. First ones were for sale, second ones for replanting the Reserve.
They helped in tracing trails and making firebreaks to avoid bushfires. Above all, they transmitted to children a love for nature by undertaking these tasks with them during school outings.

Little by little, species that had disappeared from the environment started to come back. Katy explained: "We see more and more hyenas, gazelles and birds that had deserted the area».
These first concrete results finally convinced their husbands to value their work there. Prior to that, there was much gossip about the women behaving badly in the reserve, leading to a lot of arguments among couples.
They have built a tourist camp "Kër Cupaam" (named after the protective female figure of the place, Coumba Cuppam) and help from Nicolas Hulot Foundation allowed them to equip the camp with five bungalows and a restaurant in 1990. Seven women work there daily, which allows them to provide for their needs. A tontine has been created, and a store that sells gas canisters set up, to encourage women to give up cooking with firewood.
Today, these activities have decreased; the camp's income generating activity is threatened since the crisis in tourism. Moreover, the area is becoming more and more residential with villas being built and the nurseries plundered by animals (monkeys from the reserve and neighbors' goats). The women are looking for ways to maintain their activities.
"My wish is to do my utmost so that my children can see the land in the way I saw it. »
Together with the youth dropouts, they have created a unit of volunteers who help them clean the beach.

Kathy passed away on February 29, 2020.
Don't stay...
Don't sit around my coffin crying,
I'm not there - I don't sleep.
I'm a thousand winds blowing,
I'm the sunlight on the ripe grain,
I am the sweet autumn rain, I am the quick flight of
Birds that begin their circular flight when you wake up in the calm morning
I am the speedy boom that flies towards the sky where silent birds swirl. I am the sweet star that shines at night,
Don't sit there lamenting in front of my grave, I'm not there: I'm not dead. (Original version in French By Stevenson)

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Kathy Ndione
De nature et de persévérance

Une géante éclairée, solidaire et résiliente, engagée pour l’autonomisation des femmes, écologiste par nécessité, par résistance et par amour pour la Nature.

Dans un petit village de pêcheurs sur la Petite Côte au sud de Dakar, Popenguine, célèbre pour ses pèlerinages autour d’une vierge noire depuis 130 ans, un groupement d’une centaine de femmes pour la protection de la nature a vu le jour autour de la réserve naturelle de Thioupam d’une superficie de douze hectares et qui couvre huit villages..
Kathy Ndione, mère de sept enfants, est présidente du regroupement des Femmes de Popenguine pour la Protection de la Nature (RFPPN) mais elle se considère comme membre simple du groupement qui existe depuis 1988.

À l’époque, les hommes partaient à la pêche et cultivaient des champs d’arachide et de mil. Les femmes s’entraidaient par groupe de deux. Quand l’une partait vendre le poisson, une autre restait à la maison pour faire la cuisine, arroser les plantations et fumer le poisson.
Les femmes ont offert leurs services pour participer à la réhabilitation de la brousse, quand les parcs nationaux se sont installés pour préserver la zone, afin de régénérer la brousse. car en tant que premières bénéficiaires, ce sont elles qui y allaient quotidiennement chercher le bois de chauffe et elles constataient impuissantes le rythme de déboisement du site. De plus, la transformation des produits halieutiques qui les faisait vivre, s’amenuisait, il y a de moins en moins de poissons à fumer à Popenguine.
« …Beaucoup de femmes qui nous ont rejoint dans ce combat de reboisement ont failli se faire répudier par leur époux. On nous appelait les “sauvages”, on nous a pris pour des “folles” car quand nos époux revenaient des champs pour se reposer, nous prenions leurs outils en cachette et partions dans la forêt dont nous reboisions les parties détruites. Ce qui nous a toujours retenu d’abandonner, c’était l’envie de laisser quelque chose à nos petits-enfants qui couraient le risque de ne jamais savoir ce à quoi ressemblait une forêt… »
Avec les parcs nationaux, les femmes du collectif apprennent le maraîchage et cultivent des légumes dans la réserve, qu’elles vendaient aux vacanciers du dimanche. Leur première activité fut d’apprendre à planter et à faire des pépinières. Elles firent des plants d’arbres fruitiers et d’arbres forestiers. Les premiers étaient destinés à la vente, les seconds à replanter la Réserve.
Elles aident à tracer les sentiers et à faire des pare-feu pour éviter les feux de brousse. Surtout, elles transmettent aux enfants le goût pour la nature en accomplissant ces tâches avec eux lors de sorties scolaires.

Petit à petit, les espèces qui avaient disparu de l’environnement reviennent. Katy explique : « On voit de plus en plus de hyènes, de gazelles ou d’oiseaux qui avaient déserté. »
Ces premiers résultats concrets finirent par convaincre leurs maris de les laisser y travailler. Avant cela, les mauvaises langues disaient qu’elles se dévergondaient dans la réserve et les disputes de couple étaient fréquentes.
Elles ont construit en bordure, un campement touristique « Kër Cupaam » (du nom de la figure féminine protectrice du lieu Coumba Cuppam) et l’aide de la Fondation Nicolas Hulot, leur ont permis d’équiper le campement de cinq cases et d’un restaurant, en 1990. Sept femmes y travaillent quotidiennement, cela leur permet de subvenir à leurs besoins. Une tontine pour les femmes a été créée, et même une boutique qui vend des bonbonnes de gaz, afin d’inciter les femmes à abandonner la cuisine au bois de chauffe.
Aujourd’hui, ces activités ont diminué, l’activité rémunératrice du campement est menacée depuis la crise du tourisme, de plus, la zone devient de plus en plus résidentielle avec de villas, et les pépinières sont pillées par les animaux (singes de la réserve et chèvres des voisins). Elles cherchent des moyens de renouveler leur activité.
« Mon vœu est de tout faire pour que mes enfants retrouvent la terre telle que je l’ai connue. »
Avec les jeunes déscolarisés, elles ont créé un corps de volontaires qui les aide à nettoyer la plage.

Kathy nous a quittés le 29 février 2020.
Ne restez pas…
Ne restez pas à pleurer autour de mon cercueil,
Je ne m’y trouve – je ne dors pas.
Je suis un millier de vents qui soufflent,
Je suis la lumière du soleil sur le grain mûr,
je suis la douce pluie d’automne, je suis l’envol hâtif.
Des oiseaux qui vont commencer leur vol circulaire quand tu t’éveilles dans le calme du matin,
je suis le prompt essor qui lance vers le ciel où ils tournoient les oiseaux silencieux. Je suis la douce étoile qui brille, la nuit,
Ne restez pas à vous lamenter devant ma tombe, je n’y suis pas : je ne suis pas mort. (Par Stevenson)

Retour haut de page