Ndèye Marie Thiam
Of Peacemaker and of Mediation

Giant peacemaker, feminist, mediator engaged in the prevention and the management of conflicts, filled with generosity and humility! 

Ndeye Marie Diédhiou, a widow, is a teacher with 25 years of teaching experience. She joined youth movements as a teenager.
Professionally, she became a trade unionist in Catholic private education and joined the women's movement. "I am a member of practically all the women's organizations that exist in Casamance, many at least. But, it's an advantage or disadvantage, I've never gone into politics. "According to her, it is this profile that made her the ideal candidate to lead the platform that brings together organizations of all persuasions.
She is the coordinator of the Women's Platform for Peace in Casamance. She defines herself as the servant of women in Casamance.

Traditionally, Casamance women have the right to intervene in the prevention and management of conflict between villages and communities. In their families, they regulate tensions. Women are important in conflict resolution because they make the decision with men to go to war. It was in the 1990s, when they realized that their children and themselves were the main victims, that they used another approach in their activities.
The Women's Platform for Peace in Casamance was created in 2010 at the initiative of two organizations that were active in the search for peace. In order to assess women's activities in this search, they convened all the women's organizations of Casamance. This think tank had the idea of forming an organization that brought together 14 women's umbrella organizations with 25,000 members, to work on the review of Security Council Resolution 1325, thus emphasizing the importance of women's full participation in peacekeeping.
The platform's activities include assistance to the victims of conflicts

armed, the organization of meetings and dialogue with the various stakeholders, campaigns for the signing of petition booklets calling for the involvement of the population in the search for peace.
In 2019, the women met with four of the five presidential candidates. They also conducted public consultations at the level of the nine departments of Casamance, which enabled them to identify their concerns according to their residential areas. After these consultations and meetings with other organizational observers of the crisis, they drew up an official report for the President of the Republic they have yet to meet. They maintain hope of making sustainable peace. "This lull we have experienced for years is the right time - It is necessary to seize this opportunity to start negotiations".
"This lull we have known for years is the right time for negotiations. It must be seized to begin them".

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Ndèye Marie Thiam
De pacifisme et de médiation

Géante pacifiste, féministe, médiatrice engagée dans la prévention et la gestion  des conflits. Générosité, force et humilité ! 

Ndeye Marie Diédhiou, veuve Thiam, est une enseignante qui a exercé pendant 25 ans et a intégré les mouvements de jeunesse dès son adolescence.
Dans le cadre professionnel, elle est devenue syndicaliste dans l’enseignement privé catholique et a adhéré aux mouvements féminins. « Je suis membre de pratiquement toutes les organisations de femmes qui existent en Casamance, de beaucoup tout au moins. Mais, c’est un avantage ou inconvénient, je ne me suis jamais lancée en politique. » D’après elle, c’est ce profil qui faisait d’elle la candidate idéale pour diriger la plateforme qui regroupe les organisations, toutes obédiences confondues.
Elle est coordinatrice de la Plateforme des Femmes pour la Paix en Casamance. Elle se définit elle-même comme étant la servante des femmes de la Casamance.

Traditionnellement, la femme casamançaise a le droit d’intervenir dans la prévention et la gestion des conflits, entre les villages, entre les communautés. Dans leur famille, elles régulent les tensions. Les femmes sont importantes dans la résolution du conflit, car elles ont pris la décision avec les hommes d’aller à la guerre. C’est dans les années 1990, quand elles constatèrent qu’elles et leurs enfants étaient les principales victimes, qu’elles ont donné une autre forme à leur action.
La plateforme des femmes pour la paix en Casamance a été créée en 2010 à l’initiative de deux organisations qui s’activaient dans la recherche de la paix. Dans le but de faire le bilan des activités des femmes dans la recherche de la paix, elles ont convoqué toutes les organisations de femmes de la Casamance. Ce comité de réflexion a eu l’idée de se constituer en une organisation qui regroupe 14 organisations faitières de femmes et compte 25 000 membres travaillant sur le bilan de la résolution du Conseil de sécurité 1325, soulignant ainsi l’importance d’une pleine participation des femmes au maintien de la paix.
Les activités de la plateforme comprennent une assistance aux victimes de conflits

armés, l’organisation de rencontres et de dialogue avec les différentes parties prenantes, des campagnes pour la signature des carnets de pétition demandant l’implication des populations dans la recherche de la paix.
En 2019, elles ont rencontré quatre des cinq candidats à l’élection présidentielle. Elles ont fait également des consultations publiques au niveau des neuf départements de la Casamance qui ont permis de relever leurs préoccupations en fonction de leur zone d’habitation. Après ces consultations et après avoir rencontré d’autres organisations observatrices de la crise, elles ont élaboré un livre blanc à destination du Président de la République qu’il leur reste à rencontrer. Elles ont bon espoir d’aller vers une paix durable.
« Cette accalmie que nous connaissons depuis des années est le moment favorable pour des négociations. Il faut le saisir pour les commencer ».

00:00
00:00
fr_FRFR
Retour haut de page