Ndèye Fatou Touré
Of Tenacity and of Brio

Unassuming Giant, feminist and defender of human rights in general.

School has been the driving force behind the success of Ndèye Fatou Touré, born in Kaolack, central Senegal, in 1960, in a family of teachers. “I was a shy girl who was just working. During holidays, I had no other activity than staying at home, reading and listening to music...” Thanks to the assignments of her father, an elementary school inspector, she was able to visit the different regions of the country at a very young age. This helped to strengthen her spirit of openness, tolerance and respect for others that had already been instilled in her by her parents".
In 1979, Ndèye Fatou was admitted to university. "I was passionate about law. Sometimes I even missed lectures for two days to attend criminal trials; and it gave me shudders..."
At the probationary test of the Bar Admission Examination in November 1984, she was the only woman out of nearly 100 candidates; she was lucky and was co-opted and chosen by the prestigious bâtonnier, head of the Bar Association, Fadilou Diop. She joined his firm as his last intern, until October 1986, one day before the birth of her eldest daughter. As a young mother, she continued her collaboration with the firm, before completing her training at Maitres Bacar Waly NDIAYE (former President of the Human Rights Commission of the United Nations), Birame Sassoum SY and Bocar LY’s law firm.
She was initiated and thus practiced business law through the litigation departments of five insurance companies and three banks.

In 1985, shortly after she was sworn in as a lawyer, Ndèye Fatou Touré opened the door into the world of law first from the Association of Senegalese Jurists (AJS), then the Association of Young Lawyers, and made her way to Amnesty International while at the same time being very interested in the work of the Senegalese Human Rights Committee.

to the work of the Senegalese Human Rights Committee. "I am deeply feminist first of all, and against all injustice, deeply committed to the protection of the rights of vulnerable people. I can't help it. Whenever I am confronted with a flagrant injustice, I am inclined to volunteer to put an end to it, regardless of the gender of the victim. In fact, those who really know me are always stunned when they hear me complain about the servitude of my profession, which imposes sacrifices of all kinds, sometimes excessive.
Working with legal activists such as Mame Madior Boye, Dior Fall Sow, Habibatou Diallo Guèye, she developed her penchant for defending human rights and individual interests. She is a defense lawyer, sometimes free of charge, to provide legal assistance to people who are deprived before the law.
Also, it is part of the defense of the former mayor of Dakar, Khalifa Sall, to uphold the principle of equal treatment before the law of litigants.

In 2007, Ndèye Fatou Touré was elected to the National Assembly as a deputy for the citizen movement "Tekki" led by Mamadou Diallo. "I then tried my best to show that a woman in politics can do even better than some men, and that she can respond, just as much to people's problems. " During her office term, she committed to defending the civil, economic and social rights of her fellow citizens. She relentlessly questioned some ministers and prime ministers of the republic, especially those in charge of energy, sanitation and rural development, economy and finance, etc. during the five years she served at the National Assembly, by undertaking documents research herself by her own means and by training in financial and budgetary matters, among others.
She did the same for the floods in the suburbs by photographing, on a daily basis, the places in certain communes most affected by the waters, stepping out of her role as a lawyer to strengthen her expertise on technical issues. She had in mind to ensure the control of public policies carried out by the executive on behalf of the population. She also monitored Human Rights, for example, by dealing with prison overcrowding. On many occasions, it has brought the matter to the attention of the Minister of Justice in particular, after a tour of prisons in five regions, in order to bring him to resolve cases of excessively long pre-trial detention.
When she entered politics, she wanted the specificity of women to be taken into account, particularly in the sectoral budgets of public policies. But after five years, she preferred to return to her professional life, because the political battles of the past had distanced her from her goal of being at the service of the people to assert their rights, which must be better guaranteed by sufficiently protective standards, better respected by unequivocal measures and effectively implemented.
Ndèye Fatou has multiplied certificates in international human rights law (IHRL), international humanitarian law (IHL) and international criminal law (ICP). She holds six certificates awarded by the International Institute for Human Rights in Strasbourg, Fondation René Cassin, the United Nations Peacekeeping Centre, the International Association of Defense Lawyers (ICDAA) in order to be ready to intervene in African justice mechanisms for the defense of human rights, as she has been on the list of counsel of the ICC for three years.

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Ndèye Fatou Touré
De ténacité et de brio

Géante humble, féministe et combattante pour les droits humains en général et  les droits des populations.

L’école a été le moteur de la réussite de Ndèye Fatou Touré, née à Kaolack, au centre du Sénégal, en 1960, dans une famille d’enseignants. « J’étais une jeune fille timide qui ne faisait que travailler. Pendant les vacances, je n’avais d’autre activité que de rester à la maison, de lire et d’écouter de la musique… » À la faveur des affectations de son père, inspecteur du primaire, elle a pu connaître très jeune différentes régions du pays. Ce qui a contribué à renforcer son esprit d’ouverture, de tolérance et de respect d’autrui qui lui avait déjà été inculqué par ses parents.
En 1979, Ndèye Fatou entre à l’université. « J’étais passionnée par le droit. Il m’arrivait même de rater des cours magistraux pendant deux jours pour assister à des procès criminels. Et j’en frémissais… »
À l’épreuve probatoire de l’examen d’aptitude au stage du Barreau de novembre 1984, elle fut la seule femme sur prés d’une centaine de candidats ; elle eut la chance d’être cooptée et choisie par le prestigieux bâtonnier de l’époque Fadilou Diop, elle intégra son Cabinet et fut sa dernière stagiaire jusqu’en octobre 1986, veille de la naissance de sa fille ainée. Jeune maman, elle poursuivit sa collaboration avec le Cabinet, avant de parfaire sa formation à l’Étude de Maitres Bacar Waly NDIAYE (ancien Président de la Commission aux Droits de l’Homme des Nations Unies), Birame Sassoum SY, Bocar LY.
Elle fut initiée et pratiqua ainsi le droit des affaires à travers le contentieux de cinq compagnies d’assurance et de trois banques.

En 1985, peu après avoir prêté son serment d’avocate, Ndèye Fatou Touré a ouvert la porte d’abord de l’Association des Juristes Sénégalaises (AJS), puis de l’Association des Jeunes Avocats et pris sa carte à Amnesty International en même temps qu’elle s’intéressait beaucoup

aux travaux du Comité Sénégalais des Droits de l’Homme. « Je suis profondément féministe d’abord, et contre toute injustice, profondément attachée à la protection des droits des personnes vulnérables. C’est plus fort que moi. À chaque fois que je suis devant une injustice flagrante, je suis portée à faire du volontariat pour y mettre fin, quel que soit le sexe de la personne qui en est victime. D’ailleurs, ceux qui me connaissent vraiment restent toujours de marbre lorsqu’ils m’entendent me plaindre des servitudes de ma profession qui nous imposent des sacrifices de tous ordres, parfois démesurés ».
En côtoyant des juristes militantes comme Mame Madior Boye, Dior Fall Sow, Habibatou Diallo Guèye, elle a développé son penchant pour la défense des droits humains et des intérêts individuels. Elle se constitue avocate de la défense parfois gratuitement pour fournir une assistance judiciaire à des personnes démunies devant la loi.
Aussi, elle fait partie de la défense de l’ancien maire de Dakar, Khalifa Sall, pour faire respecter le principe d’égal traitement devant la loi des justiciables.

En 2007, Ndèye Fatou Touré est élue députée à l’Assemblée Nationale pour le compte du mouvement citoyen « Tekk i » conduit par Mamadou Diallo. « Je me suis alors évertuée à montrer qu’une femme en politique peut faire même mieux que certains hommes et qu’elle peut répondre, autant que faire se peut, aux problèmes des populations. » Elle a inscrit sa législature sous le signe de la défense des droits civils, économiques et sociaux de ses concitoyens. C’est ainsi qu’elle interpellait sans relâche, différents ministres et premiers ministres de la République, en particulier ceux en charge des secteurs de l’Énergie, de l’assainissement, du développement rural, de l’économie et des finances, etc. au cours des cinq années pendant lesquelles elle a siégé à l’Assemblée Nationale, en se documentant par ses propres moyens à la source et en se formant, entre autres, en matière financière et budgétaire, etc..
Elle fit de même, pour les inondations de la banlieue en photographiant, au jour le jour, les endroits de certaines communes les plus atteintes par les eaux, sortant de son rôle de juriste pour renforcer son expertise sur des questions techniques. Elle avait en tête d’assurer le contrôle des politiques publiques mené par l’exécutif, pour le compte des populations. Elle a aussi veillé sur les Droits Humains, en s’occupant par exemple, de l’engorgement des prisons. Elle saisit à maintes reprises, le ministre de la Justice notamment, après une tournée dans les établissements pénitentiaires de cinq régions afin de l’amener à résoudre les cas de détention provisoire de trop longue durée.
En entrant en politique, elle voulait qu’on prenne en compte la spécificité des femmes notamment dans les budgets sectoriels des politiques publiques. Mais au bout de cinq années, elle a préféré retourner à sa vie professionnelle, car les batailles politiciennes l’éloignaient de son objectif d’être au service des populations pour faire valoir leurs droits, qui doivent être mieux garantis par des normes suffisamment protectrices, mieux respectés par des mesures non équivoques et réalisés de manière effective.
Ndèye Fatou a multiplié les certificats en droit international des droits de l’homme (DIDH), droit international humanitaire (DIH) et droit international pénal (DIP). Elle détient six certificats décernés par l’institut international des Droits de l’Homme de Strasbourg, Fondation René Cassin, le Centre Person des Nations Unies pour le Maintien de la Paix, l’Association International des Avocats de la Défense (AIAD) afin d’être prête à intervenir dans les mécanismes de justice africaine de défense des droits de l’homme, car étant inscrite sur la liste des conseils de la CPI depuis trois années.

00:00
00:00
Retour haut de page