Safiétou Diop
Of Feminism and of Activism

Giant, relentless supporter of women rights, rights advocate for youth and against spread of HIV/AIDS and the plight of drug abuse!

Since the 90s, Mrs. Safiétou DIOP has had a rich career in public administration. After graduating from the Institut supérieur de l'Éducation Populaire, de la Jeunesse et des Sports (INSEPS) of the University of Dakar as an Inspector of Youth and Sports, Mrs. Safiétou DIOP has held various positions: Technical Advisor to the Ministry of Youth, Director of the Youth Promotion Project (PPJ), Director of Cabinet, Technical Advisor to the President of the Republic and now, Special Advisor to the President of the Economic, Social and Environmental Council. This rich career was recognized and sanctioned by the rank of Officer of the National Order of the Lion.
As Director of the Youth Promotion Project (PPJ), Mrs. Safietou Diop was in charge of the implementation of the State policy for the protection of youth against HIV and drug abuse, and the promotion of Reproductive Health of youth and adolescents. Under her leadership, the PPJ developed and implemented a program and strategies to raise awareness among youth in the 45 departments through Adolescent Counseling Centers (CCAs).
A feminist strongly engaged in civil society for the promotion and protection of women's and girls' rights, Ms. Safiétou DIOP has had a significant impact on the future of women and the inter-generational alternation and on reproductive health and rights and the fight against AIDS.
Her status as a civil servant and her work as an advisor at the central administration diminishes in no way her engagement as a citizen and activist. On one hand, her status has even enabled her to act more efficiently on the design and implementation of government policies and programs, and on the other hand, to advocate with commitment and determination for the community's development needs.
Formerly a locally elected member at the position of 1st Vice-President of the Regional Council of Thies, Mrs. Safiétou Diop was recognized nationally and internationally as a woman leader engaged in defense, promotion and protection of women's rights and gender equality. She has taken part in various international meetings organized by the United Nations to address major issues and priorities in the promotion and defense of women's rights.
For her, "An activist engagement is a duty to our community and our people, and we must assume it, balancing it with our professional duties. To be a transformative leader is to have a great capacity to adapt, to know how to balance, to walk on both legs, and to know how to make decisions in order to achieve one's goal in a situation of complexity. »

In 1993 created Mrs. SAFIETOU DIOP 1993 the Women's Collective for the Defense of the Family (COFDEF), for the promotion of equity and equality between men and women in the fight against HIV/AIDS and the promotion of reproductive health. For her, "all of her activities are complementary, and their combination has yielded tremendous results that have contributed to stemming the HIV/AIDS pandemic in Senegal. »
She is the coordinator of the Coalition Deliver for Good in Senegal for the consideration of women and girls' interests in the implementation of SDGs, focal point representing women's and feminist organizations on the National Steering Committee of the CECI Project "VOICES AND LEADERSHIP OF WOMEN" in Senegal funded by World Affairs Canada (2020-2024).
She is currently the president of the Coalition of Civil Society Organizations on Reproductive Health (COSCPF/GFF/Senegal), as well as president of the Réseau Siggil Jigéen (RSJ) created in 1995 and which brings together 18 NGOs for the promotion of women's rights and equality between men and women, the promotion of Reproductive Health, and the access to decision-making spheres at all levels of society. Among the country's others advances or progress on the status of women in Senegal are included the passing of Law 99-05 in 1999 penalizing violence against women, Law 2005-18 in August 5, 2005 on Reproductive Health, and free caesarean sections operation in Senegal's 14 regions in 2006, the 2010-10 law on parity in elective and semi-elective bodies in 2010, the doubling of the budget allocated to reproductive health and family planning between 2013 and 2017 and the law on criminalization of rape and pedophilia in 2019.
For the President of the RSJ, the work performed by her generation between the 1990s and 2020 is appreciable, as evidenced by the positive results of the assessment of the implementation of the Beijing Platform, 25 years later, and the twelve (12) development areas among which education and women's health sectors were priorities.
Notwithstanding, Safiétou Diop is firmly convinced that there is still a decisive step in the battle of present feminists: establishing a strategy of intergenerational dialogue that engages the entire women's movement and civil society with the objective of passing the baton to young and future generations. "The success of our struggle for a fairer and more egalitarian society depends on our present ability to prepare the next generation to take over".

en_USEN
Back to the top of the page

Safiétou Diop
De féminisme et de militantisme

Géante, militante infatigable des droits des femmes, mais aussi de ceux de la jeunesse contre le VIH et la drogue !

Depuis les années 90, Mme Safiétou DIOP mène une riche carrière au sein de l’administration publique. Sortie de l’Institut supérieur de l’Éducation Populaire, de la Jeunesse et des Sports (INSEPS) de l’Université de Dakar comme Inspecteur de la Jeunesse et des Sports, Mme Safiétou DIOP a occupé différentes fonctions : Conseillère technique au Ministère de la Jeunesse, Directrice du Projet Promotion des Jeunes (PPJ), Directrice de cabinet, Conseillère technique à la Présidence de la République et aujourd’hui, Conseillère spéciale auprès de la Présidente du Conseil Economique, Social et Environnemental. Ce riche parcours est reconnu et a été sanctionné par le grade d’Officier de l’Ordre National du Lion.
En tant que Directrice du Projet de Promotion des Jeunes (PPJ), Mme Safietou Diop avait en charge la mise en œuvre de la politique de l’État pour la protection de la jeunesse contre le VIH et la drogue, et la promotion de la Santé reproductive des jeunes et des adolescents. Sous son magistère, le PPJ a développé et mis en œuvre un programme et des stratégies pour conscientiser les jeunes dans les 45 départements à travers des Centres Conseils Adolescents (CCA).
Féministe fortement engagée dans la société civile pour la promotion et la protection des droits de la femme et de la jeune fille, Mme Safiétou DIOP a eu un impact significatif sur le devenir de la femme et l’alternance générationnelle, sur la santé de la reproduction et la lutte contre le VIH.
Son statut de fonctionnaire et son travail de conseillère dans l’administration centrale n’entachent en rien son engagement citoyen et militant. Cela lui a même permis d’agir plus efficacement, d’une part sur la conception et la mise en œuvre des politiques et programmes de l’État, et d’autre part, de porter avec engagement et détermination le plaidoyer pour la prise en charge des besoins de développement de la communauté.
Ancienne élue locale en qualité de 1ère Vice-Présidente du Conseil Régional de Thiès, Mme Safiétou Diop est reconnue au niveau national et international comme une femme leader engagée dans la défense, la promotion et la protection des droits des femmes et de l’égalité entre les sexes. Elle a pris part à plusieurs rencontres internationales organisées par les Nations Unies pour adresser les enjeux et priorités majeurs en matière de promotion et défense des droits de la femme.
Pour elle, « Un engagement militant est un devoir envers notre communauté, notre peuple et nous devons l’assumer en l’équilibrant par rapport à notre devoir professionnel. Être leader transformateur, c’est avoir une grande capacité d’adaptation, savoir se tenir en équilibre, marcher sur ses deux jambes, et savoir faire la part des choses pour atteindre son objectif dans une situation de complexité. »

Mme SAFIETOU DIOP a créé en 1993 le Collectif des Femmes pour la Défense de la Famille (COFDEF), pour la promotion de l’équité et de l’égalité entre les hommes et les femmes dans la lutte contre le VIH/SIDA et la promotion de la santé de la reproduction. Pour elle, « toutes ses activités sont complémentaires et leur combinaison a donné des résultats formidables qui ont contribué à endiguer la pandémie du VIH/SIDA au Sénégal… »
Elle est coordonnatrice de la Coalition Deliver for Good au Sénégal pour la prise en compte des intérêts des femmes et des filles dans la mise en œuvre des ODD, point focal représentant des organisations féminines et féministes au Comité National de pilotage du Projet du CECI « VOIX ET LEADERSHIP DES FEMMES » au Sénégal financé par Affaires Mondiales Canada (2020-2024).
Elle est l’actuelle présidente de la Coalition des Organisations de la Société civile sur la Santé de la Reproduction (COSCPF/GFF/Sénégal), et du Réseau Siggil Jigéen (RSJ) créé en 1995 et qui regroupe 18 ONG pour la promotion des droits des femmes et l’égalité entre les hommes et les femmes, la promotion de la Santé de la Reproduction, et l’accès aux sphères de décision à tous les niveaux de la société. Parmi les avancées ou progrès du pays sur le statut des femmes au Sénégal, figurent, entre autres, le vote de la loi 99-05 de 1999 pénalisant les violences faites aux femmes, la loi 2005-18 du 5 aout 2005 sur la Santé de la Reproduction, la gratuité de la césarienne dans les 14 régions du Sénégal en 2006, la loi 2010-10 sur la parité dans les instances électives et semi-électives en 2010, le doublement du budget alloué à la Santé de la Reproduction et la planification familiale entre 2013 et 2017, la loi sur la criminalisation du viol et de la pédophilie en 2019.
Pour la Présidente du RSJ, le travail abattu par sa génération entre les années 90 et 2020 est appréciable, en attestent les résultats positifs du bilan de la mise en œuvre de la plateforme de Beijing 25 ans après dans les douze (12) domaines de développement parmi lesquels les secteurs de l’éducation et de la santé des femmes sont prioritaires.
Cependant, elle a l’intime conviction qu’il reste encore une tâche déterminante dans la bataille des féministes actuelles, celle d’asseoir une stratégie de dialogue intergénérationnelle qui engage tout le mouvement des femmes et de la société civile dans l’objectif d’une transmission du relais aux générations actuelles et futures. « Le succès de notre combat pour une société plus juste et plus égalitaire dépend de notre capacité actuelle à préparer la relève générationnelle pour demain » Safiétou Diop.

00:00
00:00
Retour haut de page